Saints OL Nick Saldiveri embracing first team reps

Nick Saldiveri (64) has been with first team at left guard
Nick Saldiveri (64) has been with first team at left guard(WVUE)
Published: Jun. 18, 2024 at 5:32 PM CDT

NEW ORLEANS (WVUE) - Left guard remains a big question mark for the Saints offensive line this season. Second-year pro Nick Saldiveri hopes to be the answer.

“I feel very fortunate to be out here doing OTA’s, doing minicamp,” Saldiveri said. “I feel like I’ve gotten better every day. I’m just going to continue to stack and keep perfecting my craft. It’s a very valuable time.”

Saldiveri has gotten the attention of the coaching staff as he’s received the overwhelming majority of the first team reps at the position.

“I’m very fortunate for the opportunity, and it’s fun,” Saldiveri explained. “I’m excited to be out there playing ball run be free and just play ball at the end of the day.”

That’s something Saldiveri didn’t get to do much of last year as a rookie. Injuries robbed him of offseason work. Once the season began he was only active four games and played just 18 offensive snaps. Now he’s healthy with clear goals in mind.

“I came here to play football obviously at the end of the day and that’s what I want to do,” Saldiveri said. “That’s what I love to do. That’s what I want to do for rest of my career. So I’m very fortunate to be in this position, and I’m going to continue to work. Everyday is an opportunity at the end of the day.”

The competition is far from over and things will get more intense when the pads come on in training camp, but for now Saldiveri is off to a good start.

See a spelling or grammar error in our story? Click Here to report it. Please include the headline.

Subscribe to the Fox 8 YouTube channel.