In which I have strong opinions — When I was twelve my family went on a month-long...

1.5M ratings
277k ratings

See, that’s what the app is perfect for.

Sounds perfect Wahhhh, I don’t wanna
ms-demeanor
earnest-peer

Somebody made a long driving poll and completely lowballed the numbers, so I'm gonna roll my own:

Up to how long can you drive in a single day before being miserable?

2h (US/Canadian)

4h (US/Can)

6h (US/Can)

9h (US/Can)

12h (US/Can)

longer (US/Can)

2h (other)

4h (other)

6h (other)

9h (other)

12h (other)

longer (other)

Edit: Every option except "longer" is meant as "less than this long", i.e. if any and all driving makes you miserable that's the 2h option for you.

ms-demeanor

See, here's the functional poll for USAmerican/Canadian drivers and folks from other places get to play along too.

ms-demeanor

When I was twelve my family went on a month-long road trip around the US, we went to 32 states in 30 days. There were some days we didn’t drive at all (staying with family for multiple days, a week of seeing museums in DC) but barring those days the *shortest* day of travel was 300 miles (about 4 hours at highway speeds) and the longest was 500 miles (about 7 hours at highway speeds).

At twelve, in the car with my parents and my ten year old sister, seven hours felt like a bit much. The whole trip was about 10k miles and when we went to return the rental van, the lady at the counter looked at the mileage before and after and asked “So where didn’t y'all go?”

A few years ago I took a train from San Jose to Los Angeles (about 350 miles, a five-ish hour drive). It was an 11 hour train ride and an hour of that was stopped so that a freight train could pass.

Part of this is “country big” but another part of this is “infrastructure bad.”