15th Feb2023

‘AEW Dark: Elevation – Episode 102’ Review

by Phil Wheat

Welcome back to another review of AEW Dark: Elevation, which features eight matches on the card. We’ve got regulars Paul Wight and Matt Menard on commentary as usual. So let’s get into the review!

Match #1: Dark Order (John Silver, Evil Uno, and Alex Reynolds) def. El Dragon, El Cobarde, and Vary Morales

My Thoughts: I’ll repeat EXACTLY what I said last week… Another win (and appearance in fact) for Dark order on AEW’s YouTube shows. No sure what the plan is for this now-diminished faction but they’re back doing skits about hiring folks to be in the group on BTE, so maybe that’s a good sign? Otherwise, this was your typical Dark Order squash match against enhancement talent.

My Score: 1 out of 5

Match #2: Big Bill def. Gino

My Thoughts: Squash! And one that went on too long for a squash match. Ridiculous.

My Score: 1 out of 5

Match #3: Jade Cargill and Leila Grey def. Dulce Tormenta and DD Doom

My Thoughts: Another squash! To be honest, I would have LOVED to see Dulce Tormenta and DD Doom actually given a chance to go in the ring rather than this unnecessary squash match – yes, I said unnecessary. Why? Well does Jade, who’s on a MASSIVE winning streak as champ really need to be 1) taking part in tag matches and 2) need to be squash non-regular talent?

My Score: 1 out of 5

Match #4: Brian Cage def. Jastin Taylor

My Thoughts: And Cage is back to the typical squash matches he does. That run of decent and well-fought matches is over isn’t it?

My Score: 1 out of 5

Match #5: Emi Sakura and Nyla Rose def. Skye Blue and Madison Rayne

My Thoughts: Another great match from Emi Sakura and Nyla Rose, two women who are pretty much guaranteed to deliver a great match week in and week out. Nothing much more to say than that.

My Score: 2.5 out of 5

Match #6: Yuka Sakazaki def. Vertvixen

My Thoughts: Always good to see Yuka Sakazaki in action again and in a decent well-fought match that packed a lot into its short time. Hopefully… hopefully(!) the appearance of Athena post-match will set-up a title match for Sakazaki. Fingers crossed.

My Score: 2.5 out of 5

Match #7: Josh Woods def. Man Scout

My Thoughts: I’ve been wondering for weeks why we haven’t seen Josh Woods tagging with Tony Nese and here we get him in a singles match with Nese (and Mark Sterling) in his corner. This was another squash that showcased Woods’ power and skill.

My Score: 1 out of 5

Match #8: Best Friends (Trent Beretta and Chuck Taylor) def. Ayden Colt and Frank Stone

My Thoughts: A squash for a main event? Not here for it sorry. I always enjoy seeing the Best Friends at work but give us a decent main event and a decent opponent for them please!

My Score: 1 out of 5

Final Verdict: 2.5/5

Off

Comments are closed.