6 Great Books Hitting Shelves This Week

Posted by Cybil on September 21, 2021
Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day.

To create our list, we focused on the books Goodreads members can't wait to read, which we measure by how many times a book has been added to Want to Read shelves. All these top titles are now available in the United States! Which ones catch your eye?
 


You should read this book if you like: Literary speculative fiction, thematically ambitious authors, family, ecological preservation, exceedingly cool story premises involving exobiology and neurofeedback systems, The Overstory


You should read this book if you like: Fantasy, romance, quirky speculation on afterlife possibilities, humor, empathy, dead guys who are still open to starting new relationships, The House in the Cerulean Sea

Read our interview with Klune here


You should read this book if you like: Contemporary fiction mixed with historical fiction, mystery thrillers, whodunit storylines stitched into careful character studies, themes of race and class, The Last Ballad, A Land More Kind Than Home


You should read this book if you like: Nonfiction, adventure, archeology, history, real-life versions of famous pop culture stories, Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Lost City of Z, The Da Vinci Code


You should read this book if you like: Biography, nonfiction, in-depth examinations of famous American dynasties, insider scoops, authors who are also world-famous CNN anchors


You should read this book if you like: Literary fiction, magical realism, protagonists who commune with sentient objects, All Over Creation, A Tale for the Time Being, form, emptiness


Which new releases are you looking forward to reading? Let's talk books in the comments!

Check out more recent articles, including:
Readers' Most Anticipated Books of September
September's Most-Anticipated Romance Novels
The Big YA Books of September

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Spencer (new)

Spencer Very excited for the new Ruth Ozeki and 'Bewilderment', both straight to the top of my TBR alongside the new Anthony Doerr!


message 2: by Lady (new)

Lady Dazy A good selection of books, ` When Ghosts Come Home' looks like a good one for me.


Julie In Wonderland I’m waiting for Under the Whispering Door to boost up my serotonin. Cerulean was so heart-warming. Hope this one is as well.


message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

Bewilderment and The Book of Form and Emptiness are on my to be read list.


message 5: by Avesta (new)

Avesta Fascinating.


message 6: by Jude (new)

Jude A new Wiley Cash book is always cause for celebration.


bohemianrhapsodyreads None of these books are my taste but that’s ok! I tried reading Under the Whispering Door but I didn’t like it. However this article does sum it up nicely. I like the “you will like this book if you like” part…that helps a lot!!!


message 8: by Cynthia (new)

Cynthia I like Cerulean Sea. It was silly cute but fun. I’m finishing up The Overstory may wait to read Bewilderment. I’m pretty bewildered over trees right now. I’ll try Wiley Cash.


message 9: by Kathleen (new)

Kathleen Daly I’ve been waiting for months for the new Maeve Kerrigan mystery that was released today in the U. S. It’s by Jane Casey, an Irish author
who’s won several rewards for her previous 11 crime novels. I love her, I support her 100% & hope you give her a try.


message 10: by chasingholden (new)

chasingholden The Book of Form and Emptiness is the only one this week I'm desperate to get my hands on. Though Bewilderment sounds decent


message 11: by Kathy (new)

Kathy Allard Interested in True Raiders but also Cassandra Peterson's (Elvira) memoir. Yours Cruelly, Elvira: Memoirs of the Mistress of the Dark


message 12: by Sam (new)

Sam I'm SO HYPED for Under The Whispering Door!!! My copy arrives tomorrow (9/26) and I'm SO READY!!!!!!!!!!


back to top