Music

Demi Lovato teases new political music after Capitol takeover

Demi Lovato is going to express her emotions through song.

Nearly three months after releasing her first political track, “Commander in Chief,” Lovato, 28, teased she intends to drop more politically inspired music after Wednesday’s takeover of the Capitol.

“My heart is broken. It makes me to [sic] sad to believe how naive I was to think this couldn’t possibly happen, and yet it did. Here we are,” she tweeted as she shared a message from the official Black Lives Matter Twitter account. “For everyone in my comments saying ‘where’s d7’ or wanting me to sing instead of speaking up about what needs to change in this country…

“THIS IS WHY I POST AS MUCH AS I DO. THIS IS WHY I CARE. THIS CANNOT HAPPEN ANY F–KING MORE,” she continued. “I’m angry, embarrassed and ashamed. I’m in the studio working on something special after today’s assault on democracy.”

Pro-Donald Trump rioters stormed the Capitol in what quickly devolved into a violent riot, in which one woman died after getting shot in the neck. The victim, later identified as Ashli Babbit, was a pro-Trump Air Force vet from California.

Vice President Mike Pence condemned the supporters and turn of events on Twitter.

“Peaceful protest is the right of every American but this attack on our Capitol will not be tolerated and those involved will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law,” he wrote.