Website pride

Published on under the IndieWeb category.

On Mastodon, Katherine (side note: whose work on poetic programming is incredibly inspiring) asked:

what’s something that you’re especially proud of on your personal website? it can be small or big

To which I responded:

I am proud that it feels like my own.

This website is the product of years of evolution, both as a person, a programmer, and a writer. Over years, I have made tiny changes to carve out a space on the web that feels like it reflects me.

Sometimes, I have veered into comparing myself to others, wondering if I should add a specific feature because someone else had it on their site (i.e. an about page, a now page). In many cases, I add something, only to realise that it isn’t quite me. Indeed, there is no list of things one must do with their site. What makes having a personal website significant is that you set the rules; the design, the way your content is presented, the feel of your internet home.

My site features a penguin that you can trigger that has the capacity to click links (press p on your keyboard and a penguin should appear in the top left corner of the screen). My site has a hidden feature that shows the most related Taylor Swift lyric to many blog posts I have written in the past. My site features writings on topics, to use words from one of my favourite bloggers Joe Crawford, various and sundry. I write about programming languages. And coffee. And, of course, Taylor Swift.

When I look at my website, I see the product of efforts of years gone by. The weekends in the pandemic where I had nothing to do and asked myself what tiny things I could do with my website. The evenings where I have written under fairy lights the thoughts that have been on my mind. The days when I have felt inspired by seeing a moment that brought me joy and said “I should document this!” and did so on this website.

Occasionally, I think “oh, but another person’s site is so cool!”, or “how can they write so much!” or “I wish I could be like them!” and wonder how I can do more. But, I have learned is that I would much rather be me than compare myself to others and wonder how they can do so much. Therein lies a rabbit hole where I end up feeling like I am not enough.

One thing that I never got across with my 100 things to do with your personal website blog post was that it is not a TODO list. It is an inspiration list. Whether your website is one page or one thousand, what matters is that it is your own.

I am proud that this website feels like my own.

Go Back to the Top