Background music

Published on under the Moments of Joy category.

Good morning, world! It is a sunny Monday morning here. I am looking out the window of a Starbucks onto the street; people walking past, buses going. An orange truck carrying a skip drives past. Does a truck “carry” a thing? I think so! Is “truck” the American term? Positively. But it wasn’t a lorry. Terminology aside, good day!

I have been pondering about what to write for a while, when a song came on in the Starbucks in which I am seated: Superbloom by MisterWives, a band from whom I have purchased a few vinyls. It got me thinking about the feeling when you hear the first few notes of a song in a cafe and you know that you have heard that song before.

At the weekend I was in one of my favourite cafes when Taylor Swift’s Folklore started playing in the background. After the first few notes, I thought: I know this song. I knew the next song, too. The staff had decided to play the album. I stayed in the cafe for longer than I anticipated because I knew what songs were coming up and I wanted to listen to them. I sang to myself. If I were to be a DJ – and this did come to mind when I had an interest in starting an internet radio station! – I would want to play Taylor Swift pretty much all the time, interspersed with a few other artists.

On another note, I have been enjoying the music of Porter Robinson of late. Robinson produces electric music, a genre in which I was mostly disinterested until finding Robinson’s music. Sad Machine is my favourite song. If you have a spare few minutes and are looking for a new song to which to listen, Sad Machine is my recommendation. Resists urge to also recommend Taylor Swift music.

I am one of two people seated in this cafe using a laptop. Two people just left together. One person awaits a coffee. A barista stocks a shelf with drins. A person in a blue jersey walks past. Indeed, it is getting colder. Autumn is here.

Go Back to the Top