‘The View’: Joy Behar Says Trump Supporters “Have Issues”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Joy Behar isn’t playing nice this election season. The longtime cohost of The View delivered a blunt diss to supporters of former president Donald Trump on this morning’s episode as the panel discussed the rift between VP candidate Tim Walz and his estranged brother.

Walz’s brother Jeff has spoken out against him in comments on Facebook, per The New York Post, in which he said, in part, “The stories I could tell. Not the type of character you want making decisions about your future,” and declared that he is “100% opposed to all his ideology.” 

Behar opened the discussion by saying it’s the first time in her 80-plus years that she has witnessed people being “so angry with each other politically” — and that includes the presidency of Richard Nixon, brutally described by Behar as a “a hateful beast.”

But when it was Alyssa Farah Griffin‘s time to speak, she said the family rift between the brothers over politics was “very relatable.”

“I think especially in the Trump era, because the country is very polarized, I have family who are die-hard Trump supporters, I have family who are die-hard Harris supporters, and I have friends on both of those [sides],” she said. “And this is why I say like, we shouldn’t demean Trump supporters, we shouldn’t call them names, we shouldn’t say they’re cultists or ignorant.”

Behar chimed in, “No, of course not,” before adding, “They have issues.”

Alyssa Farah Griffin on The View
Photo: ABC

As Griffin tried to continue, “We all have them in our lives,” the audience laughed at Behar’s remark, which only prompted her to double down.

“They do!” she exclaimed, holding her hands up and grinning.

Griffin wasn’t swayed by Behar’s barb, though. Carrying on with her commentary, she told the panel, “We all have them in our lives and we love them. And you know how you reach them— ’cause I do, I engage. And I don’t do it trying to tell them they’re wrong.

“I tell them my experience, why I am going a certain way,” she said. “And I meet them where they are, and if they don’t change, it’s not going to change my relationship with them.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.