Meghan McCain Reveals Surprising Reason Why She Won’t Do ‘Dancing With The Stars’ Or Reality TV 

Where to Stream:

Dancing With the Stars

Powered by Reelgood

It may seem like every notable name in politics, Hollywood, and even crime has competed on Dancing With The Stars, but there’s one person fans shouldn’t expect to see in the ballroom any time soon: Meghan McCain.

The former View host and daughter of late Republican Senator John McCain revealed during a recent episode of her podcast that she’s turned down the ABC dance series three times.

“I said no each time,” she said. “Because I just don’t want to publicly humiliate myself. I’m a terrible dancer and I don’t do reality TV. The amount of reality TV I’ve been asked to do would blow your mind.”

She continued, “I’m always like, what about my personality says I’d be good on these kind of platforms? I’m pretty shy in person. I’d be awful.”

Decider reached out to a representative for Dancing With The Stars for comment but did not hear back in time for publication.

McCain has certainly dabbled in television, however. She appeared as herself in a 2015 episode of House of Lies and again in 2020 in the show The Stand In. She’s also credited as a writer and a producer on a handful of talk shows, including The Five, Moms, and a few episodes of The View.

But it appears that McCain has no interest in returning to television since leaving The View in 2021. And there’s one surprising reason why.

Meghan McCain smiling on The View
Photo: ABC

“I do not do reality TV, because there’s still a tiny little window in my life that I want to run for office at some point, and you can’t do both. You just can’t. It’s just not serious,” she said. “Come to me if I’m starving in the street and I’ve had some financial issues, but, I’m fine.”

She mentioned that she was also invited to compete on Fox’s Special Forces: World’s Toughest Test, the competition series where former Special Forces operatives force celebrities to undergo demanding military training exercises.

Though she had no interest in signing up for a show like that, McCain said she “wouldn’t have to work for a year” if she did. In fact, there was one surprising show that she did recommend for celebrities looking to do reality television: The Masked Singer.

According to her friend Clay Aiken, The Masked Singer pays quite well.

“I’m not going to say how much [it pays] because I don’t have his permission, but he did The Masked Singer, and The Masked Singer, everybody should want to get on The Masked Singer. The Masked Singer is a paycheck,” she said.

Well, sign us up!