‘Live’s Mark Consuelos Admits He Didn’t Enjoy His Kids’ Childhood Plays As Much As Kelly Ripa: “I’m Pretty Sure This Is Not ‘Fiddler On The Roof’”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Children’s theater isn’t for everyone — just ask Mark Consuelos.

While sitting down with Elizabeth Olsen on Wednesday’s Live with Kelly and Mark, Kelly Ripa asked the His Three Daughters star about attending theatre camp as a kid.

“I did a musical theatre camp at a temple in Los Angeles every single summer from ages eight to 13 with my closest friends,” she recalled. “I even did it during the school year if I could. We just took it incredibly seriously from a very young age.”

She explained that they “had two weeks” to put together a musical production “with sometimes 100 children between the ages of five and 13,” and that an older couple led the direction and choreography.

“These plays that my parents had to sit through, multiple times every summer,” she shared. “I don’t know about your kids.”

While Ripa insisted that she and Consuelos “loved” to watch their kids’ performances, Consuelos chimed in to retort, “Oh, I didn’t.”

Olsen conceded that “it’s a lot,” prompting Consuelos to double down to Ripa.

“You loved it, I did not,” he added.

Ripa reiterated, “I loved it. I couldn’t get enough. I was like, yes! We will be there.”

Elizabeth Olsen, Kelly Ripa, and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

Olsen quipped, “I think I would enjoy it because I think it sounds hilarious.”

After Ripa agreed that “it is hilarious,” Olsen prompted the two to think about the “accumulation” of performances, garnering several reactions of agreement from Consuelos.

“I would yell out, I go, ‘I’m pretty sure this is not Fiddler on the Roof,” he teased.

Mouth agape, Ripa turned toward Consuelos and fired back, “Fiddler on the Roof was amazing and you know it. It was incredible.”

Consuelos replied, “I thought it was a disaster.”

Olsen revealed, “We didn’t even, I think, pay for the rights for some of the plays. Instead of Grease, it was ‘Rocking at the Hop’… Instead of Cats, it was called ‘Valley Cats,’ because it was in the San Fernando Valley. And Cats with a ‘K.'”

Ripa gushed, “Oh my gosh! You have to let me know — I will go to watch one of these performances because I love it.”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.