Queue And A

‘Bel-Air’ Star Alycia Pascual-Peña “Mentally Prepared” Herself For Fans Not To Like “Messy” Amira: “I Want My Art To Start Conversations”

Where to Stream:

Bel-Air

Powered by Reelgood

Alycia Pascual-Peña is feeling very grateful. After a memorable stint on the destined-to-be cult classic Saved By The Bell reboot, Pascual-Peña now has a showy role on Bel-Air, Peacock’s smash hit reimagining of The Fresh Prince Of Bel-Air. Pascual-Peña knows what a gift it is to be a part of IPs that hold “such a nostalgic place in people’s hearts.” “I never would I have thought that I would end up on one franchise, let alone two.”

Pascual-Peña plays Amira, a recovering addict who meets Carlton Banks (Olly Sholotan) in rehab. While they are enamored with each other, their relationship is riddled with complications and toxicity—mostly due to Amira’s struggles with addiction. “At face value, Amira is often an unlikable character,” explained Pascual-Peña. “In reality, she’s going through something really hard who deserves understanding.” Despite their issues, the connection between Carlton and Amira is very real. “They shared a formative experience and love sprouted from that,” said Pascual-Peña.

Because she’s spiraling, Amira causes a bit of chaos in the lives of Carlton, Will Banks (Jabari Banks) and Lisa Wilkes (Simone Joy Jones). “It’s really easy to write off a character like Amira and say that she’s evil,” said Pascual-Peña. “I would counter that idea by saying she’s trying to find her way in this new space.” After Lisa confides in Will that she found coke in Alycia’s bag following the disastrous “Heal and Reveal” game, Alycia accidentally overdoses on coke laced with fentanyl. “I hope that the episode encourages more people to have conversations around fentanyl,” said Pascual-Peña. “More people should carry Narcan. It can save lives.”

Before the final two episodes of Bel-Air Season 3 drop on Peacock, Pascual-Peña spoke to DECIDER over Zoom about her polarizing character, the joys of working with her co-stars, and why she’s okay playing a (seemingly) unlikable character.

DECIDER: First of all, I am such a fan of Saved By The Bell. What was it like hopping from one ’90s IP to another?

ALYCIA PASCUAL-PEÑA: It’s so insane. I never would have thought that I would end up on one franchise, let alone two. I’ll never forget getting the call from my manager, Jen, for my Saved By The Bell audition. I was so excited to audition for an IP that’s respected and holds such a nostalgic place in people’s hearts. It was such a blessing. I got to have the best time with my friends on that wacky show. Now, a couple years later, I’m also a part of another well-known and respected IP with Bel-Air. What a gift.

Bel-Air/ Olly Sholotan and Alycia Pascual-Peña
Peacock

Amira is such a rich character. Were you able to speak to showrunner Carla Banks-Waddles before filming started?

Yeah. Carla is such a beautiful person and so creative. I am thankful that I felt safe enough to have intimate conversations with her about this story. Because Amira’s complex, right? Carla and I both agreed that we wanted to respect what healing looks like– it’s messy and complicated. At face value, Amira seems like an unlikable character. In reality, she’s going through something really hard and deserves understanding.

Carla made it easy to ask her questions and discuss this character . She was always adamant about supporting and empowering me as an artist so that I can tell this story of a young woman struggling to be sober. Carla inspires me a lot. I’m thankful to now know her because of this project.

You’re absolutely right that Amira deserves understanding, much like Carlton. Carlton has a great support system to help him in his sobriety journey, but does Amira have anyone she can lean on? I don’t know how much you can say…

Let me not get myself into too much trouble [laughs]. What I can say is that we learn more about who Amira is in the next two episodes. We also get to see a different side of her towards the end of the season, which I really enjoy. We get to strip back the layers of who she is and realize that she still needs help. Healing isn’t linear. This is a woman who keeps falling down while trying to stay sober. By the end of the season, I hope that people are left with more positive sentiments around Amira.

I spoke to your co-star Olly before the Season 3 premiere. He told me that you two were friends long before you auditioned for the role. What was it like acting opposite him?

He’s not here, so I can be super nice [laughs]. He is one of the most talented actors I’ve ever met. The care that he gives to the show and his cast members is really special. He’s also a lovely human being. I feel lucky to call him one of my best friends, but as an actor, I feel very inspired by him and what he’s been able to explore through Carlton and his journey. I felt safe in playing with and exploring Amira’s character We had so many conversations about honoring the story and answering the question, “what does it look like for two people who love each other and want to be their best version of themselves, but are falling just short?”

I asked Olly this same question, but I want to ask you as well. Why do you think Carlton and Amira are so drawn to each other?

They’re drawn to each other for a few reasons. They feel like they understand each other in ways that other people in their life can’t. They are both experiencing trauma, which resonates with them in an intimate way. They know what it is to be cast it out and yearn for someone’s attention and affection and support. It’s not lost on me that they meet at rehab. They shared a formative experience, and love sprouted from that. There’s lots of reasons why Amira and Carlton find their way to each other—despite the mishaps and the mess—and I really love that.

Amira struggles will addiction. Did you do any research in preparation for the role?

Absolutely. Addiction is a sensitive topic. People understandably have a lot of qualms about discussing addiction and mental illness, so I knew I had to do my due diligence. I personally know people who’ve struggled with addiction. I know what it is to have a family member who is really struggling with staying sober. I understand that addiction can be multi-dimensional.

I watched documentaries. I read a lot of books. I had conversations with people, because it was important to me to depict a woman with an addiction in a sincere way. One of my favorite parts about being an artist is being a truth teller and hopefully validating someone’s experience. So, it’s vital that I do the work on the character before I step onto the set. I researched what a fentanyl overdose looks like. I read about people who spiral because of an addiction.

At the pool party, Amira’s game of “Heal and Reveal” quickly goes south. Do you think she actually had good intentions or does she thrive on conflict like Will observes?

APP: Art is open to interpretation, right? Many people will say that she just wanted to be messy, and I respect that. For me, I think that she was trying to get answers. It’s really easy to write off a character like Amira and say that she’s evil. I would counter that idea by saying she’s trying to find her way in this new space. Plus, Amira is a girl’s girl. She’s clearly frustrated by Will disrespecting Lisa—to whom Amira feels close.. Amira also just came of out rehab. She’s saying, “let’s get into it.” She wants to have these transparent conversations and say the difficult things. She leans into the conflict in a disturbing way, but I don’t think that she thrives off on it. She’s dealing with her obstacles chaotically throughout the season.

Bel-Air/ Olly Sholotan and Alycia Pascual-Peña
Peacock

I do love the bond between Amira and Lisa which feels genuine on Amira’s part. However, Amira doesn’t hesitate to lie to Lisa after Lisa finds the coke in her purse. Why do you think that is?

Amira is carrying a lot of shame and guilt. She doesn’t want her new friend to perceive her in a negative manner. I think that she does cherish Lisa. She tells Carlton a lie about her sister because she’s yearning for empathy. However, she’s also manipulative [laughs]. She wants to be understood and accepted. She fears that if she is truthful with Lisa about still using, she will lose that friendship.

I thought you and Simone Joy Jones acted that scene beautifully. What was it like working with her?

She’s such a beautiful actress. She approaches the work with real kindness. That specific day on set, I knew that I had a scene that was so combative and uncomfortable, and I wanted to come across as really vulnerable. She kept checking in on me, but also gave me my space. Because we knew each other prior to me being on the show, we had a foundation of trust and respect. She told me: “Whatever you need for me, and let’s just go there. Let’s tell this story.”

I love that you and Simone are getting these juicy scenes together. I love when the story focuses on more Lisa’s struggles and less on her relationship with Will.

I am so thankful that the women on our show do pass the Bechdel test [laughs]. As a woman, I personally want to see multi-dimensional women on screen. As a fan of the show, it was beautiful to experience a new side of Lisa. We haven’t seen her have a friend before. I loved that Amira got to be that for her. Plus, the world needs to see just how talented Simone is. I felt so lucky to be that character that gets to kiki and laugh with her. It was easy to play because I have that care and respect for her in real life.

Another scene I want to talk about is in Episode 8 when Amira feels so hopeless that she uses again and accidentally ODs. How did you mentally prepare for that sequence?

I knew it was going to be a full episode of her having outbursts and looking a bit more physically uncomfortable until she eventually ends up overdosing. I approached that week like any other week. I thought about my intentions and created a playlist that put me in a space of isolation and feeling helpless. “Helpless” was one of the words I wrote down on my script as a note to myself. Even though I was very present during filming, I did isolate myself a little bit from the cast. I also watched other shows that I admire that featured complex characters struggling with addiction. I’m very inspired by other artists’ work.

It’s important that Lisa uses Narcan to revive Amira. I’ve never seen that on any other show, I think. Do you receive training or instruction before filming?

I think that that is probably one of my favorite moments of the entire season. The country is in the midst of a fentanyl crisis, and we don’t know enough about the drug. It was amazing to be on set and speak to people who didn’t know about Narcan until that moment. I hope that this episode will be a teaching tool for others because it was not something we took lightly. Simone was trained on how to administer Narcan to make sure that it looked real. I hope that the episode encourages more people to have conversations around fentanyl and carry Narcan. More establishments should carry Narcan. It can save lives.

It just shows how “of the moment” Bel-Air is. As an actor, how fulfilling it is to work on a drama so grounded in reality, one that offers commentary on problems many people are facing now?

Not to sound cliched, but this is why I became an artist. I want the projects I am part of to reflect the times and inspire conversations about topics I find important. One of my favorite parts about Bel-Air is the social commentary on a variety of current issues, like the idea of Blackccess. What does it mean to actually invest in black businesses? The show explores issues like that in addition to mental health and addiction and substance abuse. I want my art to start conversations, so this role has been a gift.

I think it’s difficult to come into a show with such a passionate fanbase and play a polarizing character. What feedback have you been getting from audiences?

People do not like me [laughs]. I’m very aware that people actually hate me. As an artist, that can be scary. It was nerve wracking to join a show that fans care so much about and play such a divisive character. While the creative team made me feel empowered to take up space and ask questions, the fan base was not as eager to embrace me or my character. I mentally prepared myself before the show even came out. Amira’s messy. She talks a lot of shit. She gets in your face.

Though, it is actually enjoyable and cathartic to play an unhinged character. I’m asked in interviews like, “oh, like, what do you want to do with your career?” I’m like, “I love unhinged women.” I love when a woman doesn’t have to sit pretty and be respectful. Amira’s the furthest from that. I know people hate me because of the character I play, but that is okay. Art is subjective. At the end of the day, if people are consuming my art, that’s a gift. So, I encourage people to have whatever feelings they have.

The final two episodes of Bel-Air Season 3 drop Thursday, September 5, on Peacock.