‘The Bachelorette’ Season 21 “Men Tell All” Recap: Who Went Home After Fantasy Suite Week?

Where to Stream:

The Bachelorette

Powered by Reelgood

After Jenn Tran’s emotional Fantasy Suite episode ended on suspenseful cliffhanger, The Bachelorette‘s Season 21 “Men Tell All” episode kicked off by airing Week 8’s dramatic conclusion.

We watched the aftermath of Devin Strader heading to Jenn’s room with the intention of being “brutally honest” with her about his feelings, and we saw Jenn send one man home in her most difficult rose ceremony of the season. After that, we headed back to the studio, where host Jesse Palmer welcomed Season 21’s third runner-up to stage to reflect on his heartbreak and reunite with Jenn for the first time since leaving the show.

Curious what went down with Devin and Jenn? Who went home on The Bachelorette post-Fantasy Suites? Which two men (out of Devin StraderJonathon Johnson, and Marcus Shoberg) are headed to the finale? And what was said during Season 21’s “Men Tell All” special? We’ve got you covered.

In the words of Jesse Palmer, “Grab your Mai Tai and hold onto your flip flops, we’re going back to Hawaii!” Our Bachelorette Season 21 “Men Tell All” recap awaits.

Resolving The Devin Drama

First things first! What happened after Devin made the incredibly long walk to Jenn’s hotel room ahead of the Fantasy Suite Week rose ceremony? He was feeling anxious after telling Jenn he loved her and not hearing it back, so he went to get his feelings off his chest, knowing full well that the risk might result in him going home early.

As the two sat on Jenn’s couch, Devin explained that he’s really cherished all their time together, but he’s in “a weird headspace” with his feelings and doubting where her emotions are at. “I’ve tried not to put pressure on you, and I know how difficult it is for you to be in your position, but with me, I haven’t been the priority in so many of my relationships, and I’ve been that second and third option, and I’ve felt like a safe bet before,” he said. “I feel like I’m wanted here, but I don’t feel like I’m needed here, and that scares me because I risked everything for you; my feelings, my sanity.”

Devin Strader on 'The Bachelorette'
Photo: ABC

Devin told Jenn that he wants to make it to the end with her but he doesn’t know how to without hearing that reassurance, so finally, she dove in. “I’m not as good at expressing my feelings as you are. I know that that’s not my strong suit, and I want to be able to do better for you. I’m sorry that I wasn’t reassuring you,” Jenn told him. “I don’t know how to be in a healthy relationship. I don’t know how to be, maybe what you need me to be. And I want to do that for you, and I want to feel like I can do that in the way that you do that for me every week.”

Jenn ultimately told Devin that she didn’t know what she would do if he wasn’t on the journey with her and said, “Devin, I do love you, you freaking idiot! I love you. I do. And sometimes I just don’t know how to be as amazing as you are.” The two exchanged the L-word back and forth several times before parting ways, and suddenly, Devin was healed! “I’m feeling stronger than ever before! I feel like a new man! I’m in love!” he said. “Elated is my only adjective that I could put on it. I think I have what I need to keep moving…”

Who Went Home On The Bachelorette After Fantasy Suites? The Bachelorette Season 21 “Men Tell All” Rose Ceremony Recap:

With Devin and Marcus both going into the rose ceremony having heard “I love you” from Jenn, things sadly weren’t looking good for my Unproblematic Fave Jonathon.

“I’m stressed, but if I get a rose today it’ll feel incredible. I told Jenn from the beginning that I’m a bit of a slow-burn, but after our overnight I can see a future with Jenn. I can see her as part of my family,” Jonathon said. “She has these amazing relationships with these other guys, and I’ve never let the thought of other people’s relationships get into my head until today. I don’t know how great it is compared to these two great guys…I regret the fact that I was not able to just jump in sooner. I want to express to her how I really feel. I just hope to god I’m not too late, because I know she is the one for me.”

Jenn Tran and Jonathon Johnson on 'The Bachelorette'
Photo: ABC

After Jenn gave roses to Devin and Marcus, tears welled in Jonathon’s eyes, his jaw clenched, and he looked down in disappointment. Jenn walked him to a bench where she dared ask “how are you doing?” and he said he felt like his own worst enemy because he should have let himself fall for her faster. “I know it doesn’t help our situation now, but I was just on a walk all alone on the beach last night, and just found these chairs that overlook the ocean, and just needed a second to think. And the whole time I was sitting there thinking, I found all the clarity that I needed. There was nobody that I wanted to be sitting there with more than you. And it hit me that I took too long to realize how incredible you are.”

Jonathon said Jenn taught her so much about himself and what he wants from a future partner, explaining, “I think you were perfect for me, and I wasn’t perfect for you. And that’s a really hard pill for me to swallow.” Jenn thanked him for an amazing experience, and Jonathon headed home, telling himself, “I could have gotten there sooner. I could have done better. I could have been better. I could see an amazing future with this girl, and I feel like the biggest idiot, because something amazing was right in front of me, and I was too much of my own enemy just to see it until I was too late.”

Jonathon Johnson Tells All After His Emotional Elimination

When Jesse Palmer welcomed Jonathon to stage during the “Men Tell All” event, the Season 21 contestant had nothing but positive things to say about his experience on the show and his ex. But he was definitely heartbroken that the relationship didn’t work out.

“It was a beautiful journey with amazing moments, and watching it all come to an end is just — it’s not something that I wanted. I missed out on something incredible, and I regretted not getting there a lot quicker,” he said. “There wasn’t a dull moment we ever had. She listened. She’s so attentive to everything. She would reassure you on your feelings. There were things that were unspoken — that I was not even scared, I was terrified of — and she would just pull me to the side and say, ‘Hey, this is okay. You got this.'”

Jonathon on 'The Bachelorette'
Photo: Disney/John Fleenor

When asked about watching Fantasy Suites, Jonathon said it was tough to see her fall in love with Marcus and Devin while his relationship with her remained comfortable. “That was hard to watch. I was like, love is involved in both of these relationships. And we’re in this place where we can’t go past it. So that that was definitely hard to see.”

Still, Jonathon was “beyond excited to see” Jenn. “I have a lot of love for Jen…I’m just gonna light up. I’m gonna be so excited to just give her a hug, say hi, and hopefully just tell her I hope she found exactly what she’s looking for,” he said.

Jenn Tran and Jonathon Johnson’s “Men Tell All” Reunion

So how did Jenn and Jonathon’s reunion go? After he smoothly told her that her “Men Tell All” dress was her most beautiful dress of the season, he thanked her for helping him get to a place where he could feel that deeply about someone so fast.

“That epiphany that I had overnight, I was too late. That sucked. Incredibly. But I’d never been able to come to a conclusion about somebody so quick in my life, and the fact that I was able to get there with you in a night, not only was I proud of myself for getting there that fast, but I was just so happy that I had the chance to even meet you, that you had that effect on me. So thank you so much for everything.”

The two shared a sweet moment of gratitude and respect, and though Jonathon’s Bachelorette journey has come to an end, Bachelor Nation hasn’t seen the last of him just yet.

It’s “Almost Paradise!” For Jonathon Johnson

That’s right, folks. Jonathon is headed to Bachelor in Paradise Season 10, which premieres in 2025.

“You are a great guy and you deserve to find love,” Jesse Palmer told Jonathon. “Assuming you’re still single…there’s a certain beach that’s going to be opening next summer. So I would hereby like to officially extend to you the very first invite to the beach.”

Jonathon accepted the invite and will be joined by Bachelorette Season 21 alum Hakeem Moulton, the second Season 10 cast member announced.

Wondering how Jenn Tran’s Bachelorette journey ends? Tune into the three-hour live finale event live Tuesday, September 3 at 8:00 p.m. ET on ABC.