‘Today’s Jenna Bush Hager Defends Her New Hobby From Hoda Kotb’s Teasing: “It’s Called Harvesting!”

Today‘s Jenna Bush Hager shared her “dream” of one day moving in with her sister to create their own version of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, but there was one aspect of this life that Hoda Kotb wasn’t exactly buying.

“We also had a dream that when our husbands died peacefully later in life we would have a sister-sister Ya-Ya house. Like, we would grow our hair real long and gray and have 27 cats,” Bush Hager told Kotb. “We would just read. And I would garden.”

Bush Hager’s desire to “garden” seemed to catch Kotb by surprise. “You’re really into this. What happened?” she asked.

“No, I am, and people don’t believe me,” Bush Hager replied.

And it looks like Kotb was also skeptical about what Bush Hager meant by “gardening.”

“Wait a minute, is ‘gardening’ snipping the flower and putting it in a vase?” she asked Bush Hager. “Wait, who planted the flower?”

Bush Hager noted that what Kotb was describing is called “arranging,” something that she has also recently got into.

hoda kotb jenna bush hager
Photo: NBC

“Well, I started planting, too. But I moved into a home which gave me a bounty and I believe because I miss the city a lot its God saying, ‘Hey take your shoes off come out here and snip,'” she replied.

But Kotb was relentless in her teasing. “So how do you garden you go like this?” she asked as she mimed herself cutting a flower with a scissor. “Clip, clip, you put it in a vase.”

“Yes, I do, it’s called harvesting,” Bush Hager replied. She took the opportunity to show off her skills, noting that she knows to “cut it at a diagonal” and put peonies in the fridge “before they hatch.”

“I am just becoming one with nature,” she continued. “And people are making fun of me! But… I know I’m just on the way there.”

We believe in you, Jenna!

Today with Hoda & Jenna airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.