Emily Simpson Says Her Husband Shane Thought It Was “Disgusting” When She Peed In A Bush In ‘RHOC’: “I Was Really Taken Aback”

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Orange County

Powered by Reelgood

The Bravo fandom was up in arms when Emily Simpson peed in Katie Ginella‘s bush instead of using the bathroom inside. But these people seem to forget that this is the same woman who drank out of a dog bowl and hauled a turkey sub into a sauna. Heck, “quirky” is practically Emily’s middle name! And while we personally thought the moment was all in good fun, Emily’s husband Shane Simpson seemed to agree with social media users that it was actually “disgusting.”

In the most recent episode of The Real Housewives of Orange County, the ladies (sans Shannon Beador and Heather Dubrow) go out on the town. But before they get to the bar, they make a quick pit stop at Ginella’s house, where both Emily and Tamra Judge opt to pop a squat in the front yard instead of go inside like civilized human beings.

“I don’t want to pee in Katie’s house because then I would have to go inside and I would have to meet her husband and I just don’t have time for that,” Emily explains in her confessional. “It’s a girl’s night out. I want to streamline this, get in the bus and get to the location.”

Following the episode, fans shunned Emily for what they described as “weird” and “disrespectful” behavior.

According to Emily, who stopped by DECIDER’s offices this week, her husband was just as shocked by the scene.

“Shane always watches the episodes first. I get it and I send it to him and he watches it,” she said. “And I will tell you, the first thing he did — he watched the episode and he came into the bedroom and he goes, ‘I can’t believe you peed in a bush.’ He was like, ‘That is disgusting.’ And I was really taken aback. Because honestly, I didn’t even remember that I had done it. “

'RHOC'
Photo: Bravo

Emily said that is the “quintessential difference” between her and Shane.

“He is very Orange County. I’m from Ohio,” she explained. “I grew up on 12 acres. My sister and I have peed behind every bush on our property. We’ve peed by the pond, we’ve peed in the woods. I just feel like I grew up like that. It wasn’t something weird.”

The beloved reality star, who rightfully has no shame in her game, also addressed the online haters directly.

“Those people being judgmental have never been stuck in a sprinter van with a whole bar of alcohol for hours,” she joked. “I was to the point that I couldn’t hold it any longer.”

And to that we say: fair enough.

The Real Housewives of Orange County airs every Thursday at 9/8c on Bravo. New episodes are available to stream the next day on Peacock.