Keri Russell Claims ‘Mickey Mouse Club’ Fired Girls Who Looked “Sexually Active”: “Pregnant Mouseketeers Aren’t On The Roster”

Where to Stream:

The Mickey Mouse Club

Powered by Reelgood

Keri Russell recently looked back on her time starring on The Mickey Mouse Club in 1991, during which she allegedly noticed an interesting double standard amongst her co-stars.

Speaking to Modern Family actor Jesse Tyler Ferguson on his podcast Dinner’s On Me, the actress shared her reason for leaving the show in 1993 when she was 17 years old.

“Was there a cut-off age where, like, after you turned 17, you can no longer be on it?” Ferguson asked.

Russell joked, “It’s usually girls who looked like they were sexually active. Which, probably, I was one of the first. They’re like, ‘She’s out. That one is gone.’”

The boys, however, got to stay on for much longer, she claimed.

“Meanwhile, the boys stayed till they were, like, 19,” she said, before later confessing, “I was like, ‘By the way, I had sex with that person, so I know that they’ve had sex.’ For real.”

The Mission: Impossible III actress did not disclose which Mouseketeer she slept with during her time on the show, but NSYNC singer JC Chasez and actor Tony Lucca were also part of the cast.

“Pregnant Mouseketeers aren’t on the roster,” she joked.

THE ALL NEW MICKEY MOUSE CLUB, far right: Keri Russell, 1989-1994.
Photo: Buena Vista Television

The actress admitted it was “so bizarre” to know she started her decades-long career on the Disney special.

“You know, girls and sexuality,” she added. “And by the way, me, I [had] like a 12-year-old boy body. There’s nothing really sexy about me, but I think that was what [made Disney] nervous.”

She’s not the only star who got her start on the show.

Her time on she show briefly overlapped with Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, Ryan Gosling, and Christina Aguilera, who joined the cast in 1993.

Russell has claimed in previous interviews that she felt like the “least talented” person in the cast, but she later forged a successful career in television and film with roles like Felicity, The Americans, Mission: Impossible III, and more.

“I was literally the least talented one there. I’m not kidding. When I look at those kids, I’m like, why in the world did they pick me?” she told W magazine.

The actress added that she at least got away from the show with her “sanity” and “dignity.”

“Not everyone got out alive,” she said.