‘The Drew Barrymore Show’: Drew Tells Dua Lipa She’s “So Incredibly Happy” Being Single

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

Drew Barrymore doesn’t need a man! The actress revealed on this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show that she has been “so incredibly happy” despite being single for years.

The talk show host was joined by singer-songwriter Dua Lipa in the auditorium of Talent Unlimited High School in New York City, where they dove into the inspiration behind the musician’s new song “Training Season” which is off her album Radical Optimism.

“‘Training Season’ is — this is me in my singledom. I went on a couple of dates. All terrible,” Dua Lipa said.

The star explained that she and her friends went to the recording studio, where she gave everyone the low-down on her dating life.

“I just go, ‘Guys. Training season is over. I’m done training up these boys. No more!'” she recalled. “What started off as a joke turned into a lyric which then blossomed into a song. And then we have ‘Training Season,’ which was almost a manifestation.”

Dua Lipa continued, “Because I believe that the words that I write — I have to be careful what I write because sometimes I feel like they can come true. Because they become a mantra, then I say them over and over, so I just gotta be careful. I’m, like, willing this onto myself.”

'The Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

Meanwhile, Barrymore explained why she resonated with the song.

“I feel like I’m on that tipping point as well,” she said. “I have continually throughout my life made it about the other person. I’ve also spent many, many years being single and I have been so incredibly happy. I’ve made finally an investment in myself the way I have invested in others my whole life.”

Barrymore has been open about her dating life on The Drew Barrymore Show, frequently reminding viewers that she hasn’t been in a relationship since her divorce from Will Kopelman in 2016. While she occasionally dabbles in the art of online dating apps, Barrymore has largely kept her focus on her hit daytime talk show and her two young daughters.

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.