Dermot Mulroney Jokes ‘My Best Friends Wedding’ Poster Left Him Unemployed For A Year: “If You’d Made Me A Little Bigger, Maybe I Could Have Gotten A Job”

Where to Stream:

My Best Friend's Wedding

Powered by Reelgood

Dermot Mulroney revealed that he “probably didn’t work for a year” after starring in My Best Friend’s Wedding. However, the actor has a theory as to why.

Mulroney teased to The New York Times that he “was sitting there ready for the gift with purchase that was supposed to come along with being in a popular movie.” However, he claimed that “instead, [he] probably didn’t work for a year” afterward.

“I chalked it up to me being so tiny on the poster, the little guy on the cake,” he shared. “I thought, gosh, you guys, if you’d made me a little bigger, maybe I could have gotten a job.”

As the poster teases, the 1997 rom-com follows Julianne Potter (Julia Roberts), who “fell in love with her best friend the day he decided to marry someone else.”

Mulroney played the best friend in question, Michael O’Neal, who is set to marry Cameron Diaz‘s Kimberly Wallace. The poster features Mulroney and Diaz’s characters as wedding cake toppers, and as Mulroney described to The Times, they are “tiny.”

Nonetheless, Mulroney has certainly since exited that slump, and has garnered a multitude of TV and film credits over the years, including the recent role of Bea’s (Sydney Sweeney) father Leo in the box office-busting rom-com Anyone But You. He even instilled some leading-man wisdom on Glen Powell.

Dermot Mulroney in 'My Best Friend's Wedding'
Photo: Everett Collection

“I didn’t want him to do what I did, which was minimize how important something is that might feel a little light or a little fluff when you’re doing it,” he recalled. “What these movies mean to people,’ I told Glen, ‘will last for decades.’ It will last until after you’re gone in a way that maybe the other cool stuff he’s doing won’t. It has a different kind of absorption.”

As for My Best Friend’s Wedding, Julia Roberts chimed in on where she believes Mulroney’s character would be now, claiming in a December 2023 interview with CBS Mornings that Michael is “married and faithful to his wife.”

“And George (Rupert Everett) and Julianne (Roberts) start a do-it-yourself show on HGTV and become wildly famous,” she added.