Joey King Tells Drew Barrymore About “Mind-Blowing” Experience Starring In Taylor Swift’s “Mean” Music Video When She Was 10

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

Joey King got to live out every Swiftie’s dream by starring in not one, but two Taylor Swift music videos. On this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show, she reflected on the “mind-blowing” experience she had while working with the beloved pop star.

According to King, she was only 10 years old when she appeared in Swift’s music video for “Mean” when her “Speak Now” album was first released in 2010. The actress told host Drew Barrymore and co-host Ross Mathews that she’s grown closer to Swift as she’s gotten older, most recently starring in the music video for “I Can See You (Taylor’s Version)” from the album “Speak Now (Taylor’s Version),” which came out last summer.

“I was a kid so she was supportive and sweet. But then we became more friendly as I got older,” King said. “When she asked me to be a part of the ‘I Can See You’ music video, it was like full-circle of the ‘Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)’ book-ending. It was so special.”

Eagle-eyed Swifties, like Barrymore, can even find King’s original outfit from the “Mean” music video displayed in a glass case in the “I Can See You (Taylor’s Version)” music video.

When Barrymore asked King what Swift was like as a person, she described the Grammy Award-winning musician as “so overwhelmingly normal and kind.”

'The Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

“She’s just really cool. She just wants to hang and chat about normal, fun stuff,” King gushed. “What better role model? I was so obsessed with her when I was 10 and I got the opportunity to work with her. It was just mind-blowing to me. Then I’m now 24 and I still feel this awe.”

Barrymore told her guest that she was “so glad” that they were in each other’s lives, adding, “I love the work that you do together. And I love hearing what a good, nice, kind, normal person she is. That’s all I get from her.”

She continued, “I have to say, one of my favorite things increasingly, is her writing. I just cannot handle what an incredible poet she is. And the lyrics and the music and raising two girls who are like almost 10 and 12, this is the hero we need. I love her. I’m gonna shut up.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.