Gypsy Rose Blanchard Separates From Husband Ryan Anderson: “I Need Time To Let Myself Find Who I Am”

Where to Stream:

The Prison Confessions of Gypsy Rose Blanchard

Powered by Reelgood

Gypsy Rose Blanchard is a single woman. Three months after her release from prison, the internet icon has called it quits with her husband Ryan Anderson, who was heavily featured throughout her recent Lifetime docuseries The Prison Confessions of Gypsy Rose Blanchard.

Blanchard announced her separation from Anderson in a statement posted to her private Facebook account.

“People have been asking what is going on in my life. Unfortunately, my husband and I are going through a separation and I moved in with my parents’ home down the bayou,” she wrote, per People. “I have the support of my family and friends to help guide me through this. I am learning to listen to my heart. Right now I need time to let myself find… who I am.”

The estranged couple met while Blanchard was serving prison time for the murder of her mother. In 2020, Anderson sent her a letter — and two years later, they were wed in a jailhouse ceremony.

The road leading up to their wedding wasn’t an easy one, as seen in The Prison Confessions of Gypsy Rose Blanchard. They reveal at one point in the doc that Blanchard had been in contact with her ex-fiancé behind Anderson’s back. Despite this, they went through with the wedding anyway — and proceeded to do press together when she was released on parole in late 2023.

“I’ve never lived with a man,” Blanchard told People of moving in with Anderson after her release. “I grew up with a mom, so I didn’t even grow up with a dad in the house. So, I’m like, ‘I don’t even know what it’s like to live with a man.'”

Gypsy Rose Blanchard and Ryan Anderson
Photo: Getty Images

In 2015, Blanchard asked her then-boyfriend Nick Godejohn to kill her mother, who subjected her to painful and unnecessary surgeries and convinced the world she was suffering from multiple chronic illnesses. It was later revealed that her mom had Munchausen syndrome by proxy, which is a form of child abuse when a caregiver fabricates their dependent’s illnesses and symptoms for sympathy or financial gain.

Blanchard pleaded guilty to second-degree murder in 2016 and was sentenced to 10 years in prison, while Godejohn was sentenced to life in prison without parole. Blanchard was ultimately released a little more than seven years into her sentence in December 2023.

If you suspect child abuse, contact the Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline at 1-800-4-A-Child or 1-800-422-4453, or visit www.childhelp.org