Kelly Ripa Tells ‘Live’ Audience “I Don’t Want To Be Here” After Her Aging Dog Had A “Bad Day” Yesterday: “Feel Like I Need To Get Home”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

It’s no secret that Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos have a lot of love for their two dogs. On this morning’s episode of Live with Kelly and Mark, viewers were given an update on their eldest pup, Chewie.

After welcoming the studio audience to the show, Ripa revealed that Chewie had been struggling the day before.

“You know, I don’t know if you noticed yesterday,” she told Consuelos. “Our dog Chewie, who is very, very old now, was really disoriented.”

After Consuelos said he noticed this as well, Ripa asked if he was concerned. While he said he was, he added, “She’s 17 years old, so she was just having a day.”

Ripa reiterated that Chewie “had a really bad day yesterday,” admitting, “I’m concerned. Like, I don’t want to be here, like I feel like I need to get home.”

She added, “She walked into a wall yesterday, she fell over. It’s just like one of those things, you know? When your dogs start to get old. It’s torture.”

After repeating, “it’s really torture,” she began to say that dogs can’t communicate to their owners what’s wrong, but stopped herself and claimed that Chewie does tell her a lot “with her eyes.”

Feigning an eye roll and letting out a sigh, Ripa continued, “She’s just like, ‘Can you believe this?’ I’m like, ‘I can’t!'”

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

In an effort to assure his wife and co-host that everything was alright, Consuelos remained on the bright side, highlighting that Chewie still “jumped up on the bed last night” and slept between him and Ripa.

“She’s good,” he added.

Ripa responded, “Yeah, I’m just very… I’m a little bit distracted this morning because my brain is —” as Consuelos chimed in, “is with Chewie.”

Ripa added, “— is back home. You know what I mean?”

Consuelos noted, “Well we’re here now,” which Ripa echoed, as they proceeded with their daily host chat.

Chewie, we’re sending our love!

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.