Angela Bassett Confesses She Was “Gobsmacked” When She Lost The Oscar For ‘Black Panther’: “A Supreme Disappointment”

Angela Bassett has finally spoken out about losing the Oscar for supporting actress to Jamie Lee Curtis when she was nominated in 2023 for Black Panther: Wakanda Forever. In a recent interview with Oprah Winfrey, the actress confessed that the loss felt like a “supreme disappointment.”

“I just knew your name was going to be called,” Winfrey told Bassett. “I was beside myself! We were beside ourselves.”

Bassett confessed that she “was gobsmacked.”

“I thought I handled it very well. That was my intention, to handle it very well. It was, of course, a supreme disappointment, and disappointment is human,” she said. “So I thought, yes, I was disappointed and I handled it like a human being.”

She added that her children were also at the ceremony with her. She added, “There are going to be these moments of disappointment that you’ll experience, but how do you handle yourself in the midst of them? We’re going to smile, we’re going to be gracious, we’re going to be kind, we’re going to party anyway.”

Bassett later told Winfrey that she signed on for Black Panther without having seen the script, joking that she had “manifested” it.

“Some of these places are secretive with the scripts, but [director Ryan Coogler] said, ‘Queen.’ For years I had been saying … when they ask what else you want to play, I’d say, ‘I want to play a queen.’ I manifested it, evidently,” she said. “Because I hadn’t seen it. It’s not queen for me, it’s queen for us. We are queens. My mother, my auntie, you. We all are. So often Black women are considered at the low end of the totem. No!”

Angela Bassett Best Supporting Actress
Photo: YouTube/Oscars

Bassett was the first person to ever receive an Academy Award nomination for a Marvel film.

That fateful evening, Bassett pointedly remained seated as Curtis went to collect her Best Supporting Actress award.

The nom marked the second Oscar nod of her career; she was first nominated for playing Tina Turner in the 1993 film What’s Love Got To Do With It.

The actress has yet to win an Oscar, though she recently received an Honorary Award for her career achievements.

Her memorable performance in Black Panther: Wakanda Forever did not go unrecognized. Bassett won a Golden Globe for her turn as Queen Ramonda.