R.I.P. Sean Garinger: ‘16 And Pregnant’ Alum Dead At 20

Where to Stream:

16 and Pregnant

Powered by Reelgood

Sean Garinger, best known for appearing on MTV’s 16 and Pregnant, has died following an ATV accident. He was 20.

His mom Mary Hobbs confirmed the sad news to The U.S. Sun. She revealed that they had just gotten back to their home in Boone, North Carolina when the accident took place. They were coming from the car dealership, where Garinger was planning to buy a car so he could drive to Colorado to see his two daughters he shares with ex-girlfriend Selena Gutierrez.

“He was just moving [the ATV] from one parking spot to the next for me, so I could back in to park,” Hobbs explained. “He pulled [in] front of me to park the ATV and the ground gave way from all the rain and mud.”

According to Hobbs, the ATV flipped over and “crushed” his skull.

“I ran to neighbors trying to get someone to help me get the ATV off of him. No one answered. I ran back to him. By that time, I realized he wasn’t alive anymore,” she said, adding, “I just laid next to him until the ambulance showed up.”

Garinger starred with Gutierrez on Season 6B of 16 and Pregnant. They welcomed their first daughter Dareli in October 2020 and their second daughter Esmi in June 2022. A family insider claimed they were both dating other people at the time of Garinger’s death, per The U.S. Sun.

While they were living in separate states, the source noted that Garinger visited his ex-girlfriend’s family “literally a week before his death because he came to Colorado to visit his daughters.” They also claimed that Gutierrez was “not in a good place” following his passing.

Garinger was reportedly back in school and pursuing welding with plans to bring his daughters to spend some time with him in North Carolina.

“There was a huge part of my heart that died with my son on Wednesday,” Hobbs said. “He was my only son, my rock, my strength when I had none left. We loved spontaneously jumping in the car for a road trip or a beach sesh. We bonded over music, fast cars and shooting guns and taking new adventures.”

She added, “Sean brightened my world in a way no one else could ever come close to. He was my baby boy, my squishy, my heartbeat.”

Garinger is survived by his daughters, his mother and his sisters Shania, Lydia, Isabella, Ember, Kayden, and Casslyn, according to his obituary.