Savannah Guthrie Doubts Ryan Gosling Can Revive ‘Rambo’ On ‘The Drew Barrymore Show’: “He’s Not All Buffed Up Like Sly”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

Savannah Guthrie isn’t as confident as Sylvester Stallone when it comes to Ryan Gosling potentially reviving Rambo. On this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show, the journalist said the Barbie star isn’t as “buffed up” as Stallone was when he originated the role back in the 1980s.

While appearing on a recent episode of The Tonight Show, Stallone said he would “pass the baton” to Gosling if they ever decided to revive the beloved action franchise.

“I met [Gosling] at a dinner. Obviously, we are opposites,” Stallone told host Jimmy Fallon, per Variety. “He’s good-looking. I’m not. Seriously! Could you imagine me as Ken? It doesn’t work at all.”

He continued, “[Gosling] goes, ‘I was fascinated by Rambo and I used to go to school dressed as Rambo and people would chase me away and I still didn’t stop. I’d vacation as Rambo.’ He just kept saying that he had a lot of affiliation with Rambo. And I thought, you know, this is interesting. If I ever pass the baton, I’ll pass it on to him because he loves the character.”

While Drew Barrymore said there’s “nothing Ryan Gosling can’t do” during this morning’s Drew’s News segment, Guthrie was a little more hesitant to get on board with the actor taking over the role of Rambo.

“Let me just take the contrary position. He’s not all buffed up like Sly. Rambo was, like, beefcakey,” the Today Show host said, before adding, “I’m here for it! Don’t at me. I love it.”

'The Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

Meanwhile, co-host Ross Mathews — who admitted he’s never seen a Rambo movie — countered, “I just want to say. I’ve done the homework and really studied Ryan Gosling’s body and I think he’s up to the job.”

But if a revival ever does come to fruition and Gosling for some reason refuses the offer, Barrymore recommended Jason Momoa for the gig, while Mathews suggested Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson.

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.