Kelly Ripa Tells ‘Live’ About Their Dog’s Jealousy After Mark Consuelos Gave Her “A Little Rub” While Cuddling: “Lena Freaked Out”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos honored National Love Your Pet Day on Live with Kelly and Mark this morning with a hilarious clip of one of their own pups, Lena.

After Consuelos introduced the holiday, Ripa pulled out a photo of her husband and co-host hugging their younger pup, as she quipped, “Talk about two people in love!”

She then teased a “little video” she had for Live viewers, shedding further light on Consuelos and Lena’s special bond.

“There are other women early on in relationships,” she quipped. “When we were dating, there was jealousy. Maybe an ex-girlfriend had certain feelings about your relationship. Who knows? I don’t know. I’m talking theoretical.”

She ultimately claimed that she’d “never had a situation where a dog has been possessive of Mark,” until just recently.

“The other night, we were cuddling,” she recalled. “And Mark was petting Lena, but then he reached over and gave me a little rub. Because I get a rub too. I get a belly rub! And Lena freaked out.”

Ripa explained that she “started videotaping” the encounter, and pulled up the video evidence on air.

Mark Consuelos, Kelly Ripa, and their dog Lena
Photo: ABC

In the clip, Ripa and Consuelos are lying down together, as the latter teases, “I’m petting Mommy!” The camera then pans to Lena, who, with eyes wide open, begins nipping at Consuelos’ hand and chasing it as he moves it around.

Back in the studio, Ripa chimed in from Lena’s point of view.

“I will not stand for this!” she joked.

She also pointed out their older dog, Chewie, who was lying “down at the foot of the bed, completely unaware.”

Nonetheless, Consuelos confessed that Lena has “really touched [his] heart,” as he “didn’t grow up with dogs.”

“So when we first got Chewie, I would stare at her and [be] like, ‘I can’t believe there’s an animal in my house that I’m not trying to get rid of,'” he rehashed. “So I tolerated [it], and then I began to like — and now obviously I love Chewie. She grew on me.”

However, Ripa clarified that Consuelos’ “love for Lena is different.”

“In the words of Sade, ‘This ain’t no ordinary love,'” she added.

Eventually, the two co-hosts invited viewers to send in pictures of them “petting [their] pet,” eliciting laughter among themselves and the audience.

Consuelos continued, “And we’ll show some at the end of the show.”

Ripa joked, “We’ll show some heavy petting on the show. Nothing wrong with a little heavy petting in the morning!”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.