‘Stranger Things’ Star Linda Hamilton Says She Will “Never Watch” Season 5

Where to Stream:

Stranger Things

Powered by Reelgood

Linda Hamilton, who is most known for her role in the Terminator franchise, is set to star in Season 5 of Stranger Things.

While she has been thrilled to be a part of the show, she says she will “never watch” the new and final season.

Hamilton spoke to Us Weekly this past week and shared her mixed feelings about being part of the Netflix original sci-fi series from Matt and Ross Duffer.

The actress said that being cast in the series has, unfortunately, marred her experience of Stranger Things, a show she has loved since its debut. She added that watching as a fan, not knowing what comes next, is what made her enjoy the show so much.

“I’ve watched every season with relish. I just love it … So it’s kind of, like, imposter syndrome where I don’t [feel that I] fit in there,” she said. “That’s a whole world set in the ’80s. When you really buy into something, you don’t see yourself in it. So I think in a way, it kind of ruined the show for me.”

She added: “I never watch [a project], once I’m in something … It would just completely take me out of the reality of it to see myself in there. So I won’t be watching [Season 5].”

Hamilton is not the only actor to feel this way as many others have been in the same boat after joining a project they have been so fond of.

Despite her resolution not to watch the final season, she talked about what an amazing experience it has been being part of the show and complemented the Duffer brothers for their attention to detail when it comes to the storyline and characters.

“I Zoomed [creators] Ross and Matt Duffer, and they gave me the shape of the character, but not of the story. Because they have to be very careful with their story. So I still don’t know how it ends,” she said. “And it takes a lot of discipline to not know where it’s going to go. But that’s to protect it from all of the people that want to know.”

Hamilton added that she makes sure not to share any details about the storyline with her friends, respecting the show’s commitment to secrecy. Although production is underway, some of the stars still don’t know how the hit series will end.

Fans are not yet aware of Hamilton’s exact role in Season 5 of Stranger Things, which is slated to premiere sometime in 2025.