Julia Roberts Says She Was “So Uncomfortable” Portraying “Movie Actress” Anna Scott In ‘Notting Hill’: “I Didn’t Even Know How To Play That Person”

Where to Stream:

Notting Hill

Powered by Reelgood

Rom-com darling Julia Roberts revealed that she “almost didn’t take” the role in one of her most notable films, Notting Hill.

Speaking with the 1999 film’s screenwriter Richard Curtis in an interview published in British Vogue, Roberts opened up about her hesitancy to accept the role.

“And honestly, one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do was your movie, playing a movie actress,” she told Curtis, referring to her role of Anna Scott. “I was so uncomfortable!”

While she noted that she and Curtis had discussed the topic “so many times,” she reiterated her previous discomfort.

“I almost didn’t take the part because it just seemed— oh, it just seemed so awkward,” she admitted. “I didn’t even know how to play that person.”

She also shared how she “loathed” the costumes she wore to play the movie star, so much so that she ultimately chose an outfit from her own closet for one of the film’s most iconic scenes.

“My driver, lovely Tommy, I sent him back to my flat that morning,” she recalled. “I said, ‘Go into my bedroom and grab this, this and this out of my closet.’ And it was my own flip-flops and my cute little blue velvet skirt and a T-shirt and my cardigan.”

Julia Roberts and Hugh Grant in 'Notting Hill'
Photo: Everett Collection

The scene in question takes place in her love interest William Thacker’s (Hugh Grant) bookstore, where she tells him, “I’m just a girl standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.”

“I mean, it was a great scene,” she reflected. “But who knew that that would become the line.”

Roberts recently shared her predictions about her some of her most famous character’s fates on CBS Mornings, including the fate of Notting Hill‘s Anna.

“She’s retired [from acting], she has six children and has maintained her waist size amazingly,” she told co-anchor Gayle King last month.

As for Grant’s character, she said that he “runs the bookshop still, and now there’s a little knitting annex to the bookshop that she runs.”

Notting Hill is streaming on Prime Video.