Joy Behar Reveals That Liz Cheney Will Be On ‘The View’ Next Week

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Liz Cheney is the latest anti-Donald Trump Republican to nab a guest seat on The View. According to Joy Behar and executive producer Brian Teta, the former U.S. representative will make her debut at the Hot Topics table on Wednesday, Jan. 10.

The duo revealed the news on Wednesday’s (Jan. 3) episode of the Behind the Table podcast as Behar reflected on former New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie‘s appearance on The View earlier that day.

The longtime co-host joked that she’s Christie’s “biggest fan all of the sudden,” adding, “An enemy of my enemy is my friend.” She was clearly referring to the presidential hopeful being the only Republican candidate in the race who isn’t afraid to criticize Trump.

“You are very consistent about this fact,” Teta pointed out. “There are people that you have not been a fan of over the years, but when they turn in the public interest, you are on board with them.”

The EP named Mitt Romney and Cheney as some of the others Behar has grown to respect for their opinion on the former POTUS, before revealing that Cheney is set to make her first-ever appearance on The View next week.

“I mean, Liz Cheney voted with Trump 93% of the time, I understand. I forgive her,” Behar said. “I forgive her! I will not vote for her for president, or you know, for anything, basically, ’cause I don’t agree with her politics. But I have tremendous respect for someone who put her career on the line and paid the price, because she did what was right.”

As for Trump, Behar opened up about the man she used to know pre-presidency.

“I know him from another life when he was pro-choice, when he was not such a dictator and such a criminal,” she said. “In fact, I went to his wedding with Marla [Maples]. I like Marla and I like her daughter. They’re nice people.”

Behar continued, “But he turned into some kind of a crazy sociopath. I believe in democracy. I believe he will destroy the country. So anybody who has now seen the light, such as Chris Christie, I’m on their side.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.