Kelly Ripa Remembers Wanting To Sleuth After Mark Consuelos Was “AirDropped A Bunch Of Illicit Things” On The Plane On ‘Live’: “He Wanted Nothing To Do With It, And I Wanted Everything To Do With It!”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Kelly Ripa returned to Live with Kelly and Mark after missing Wednesday morning’s (Nov. 30) episode, and revealed she wanted to go full Nancy Drew mode after her husband and co-host Mark Consuelos received some suspicious information on his phone.

During this morning’s host chat, the two discussed “NameDrop,” a new feature on Apple products similar to AirDrop that allows users to share contacts with a nearby iPhone or Apple Watch, which people were fearing was unsafe.

Consuelos explained that “the fear was that someone could go near you” on public transportation or elsewhere “and just tap your phone and get all your contacts.”

Ripa replied, “Good luck,” revealing that her phone contacts “are so encrypted” that she now finds it difficult “remembering who everybody is.”

Consuelos argued that she must remember Anderson Cooper, who he thought she had saved as the “Silver Fox” in her contacts. However, Ripa shared that “he’s no longer the Silver Fox,” explaining that she likes to “change it up every so often.”

“I switched his name and now I can’t remember what his name is,” she said. “So I haven’t spoken to him in a while!”

Nonetheless, Consuelos noted that NameDrop “only works if your Apple device is within a few centimeters to another.”

“And each device needs to be unlocked for the NameDrop to work,” he continued. “So it’s not as unsafe as they’re saying.”

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

After Live EP Michael Gelman jumped in from offstage to point out some “settings” users can employ, Ripa asked if it is “like AirDrop for photos.”

“Do you remember that time you were AirDropped a bunch of illicit things?” she asked Consuelos.

Consuelos assured the crowd, “It’s not what you think.” However, he and Ripa claimed “it’s way worse.”

“It was like gold bars, weapons, and meetings in the U.N.,” he said, telling Gelman that he was on the plane when it occurred. “I was just going through my photos and I was like, ‘What is that?'”

Ripa added, “And maybe some of other things,” which Consuelos affirmed.

“But I got rid of them,” he clarified. Ripa chimed in, “Not me!

“At first I was like, ‘Do not get rid of this! This is evidence of something! And I’m gonna figure it out!” she exclaimed. “He wanted nothing to do with it, and I wanted everything to do with it! I wanted to know whose pictures are these!”

Consuelos replied, “Right, like the U.N. Security Council? I’m like, ‘Who is this? Get it off my phone immediately.'”

Ripa joked, “Probably one of your CIA operatives sending you something important.”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.