David Harbour Gives ‘Stranger Things’ Season 5 Update

Where to Stream:

Stranger Things

Powered by Reelgood

David Harbour has given an update regarding the final season of Stranger Things.

The actor expressed his support for the ongoing writers and actors’ strikes in Hollywood, which resulted in production on Season 5 hitting pause, in a recent interview with NME.

While responding to the news of Terminator star Linda Hamilton‘s Season 5 casting, Harbour said he doesn’t think production on the show will resume until a deal is reached.

“It surprised me when they announced that,” said the actor, “because I know that this writers’ strike has not come to a deal yet. And I think they’re committed to not shooting until they do reach a deal.”

Harbour said, however, that he’s excited for the next and final chapter of the series.

“There’s something about pouring yourself into the final season,” he said, “that sprint to the finish line, that is exciting and almost euphoric to me.”

Back in February, Harbour shared that he felt it was “definitely time” for the Netflix series to end.

“What’s funny is when I started the show, I never ever wanted it to end,” he said at the time. “That’s why I love the show. I think it’s a great show, even if I wasn’t in it. Now we’re almost nine years from filming the first season, and I think it is time for it to end. But it is, of course, very bittersweet.

“You know, there’s a sadness there. But also, we’ve all grown up. It is time for us to leave that nest and try other things and different projects. And to let [creators] the Duffer Brothers try different things as well. I mean, those guys are so talented. I want to see what they come up with next. So it is bittersweet, but it’s definitely time.”

In the meantime, Harbour will appear in the film Gran Turismo, which will land in theaters on August 11.