‘Love Island’s Kady McDermott and Ouzy See Split After “Damaging” Narrative

Where to Stream:

Love Island

Powered by Reelgood

After the Love Island UK finale aired in the US on Hulu on August 6, the Islanders have taken to social media and participated in various interviews to discuss the unaired drama and behind the scenes details from the villa. 

If you thought Mitch was messy on the show, you won’t believe what “messy Mitch” did after coming home. During an interview with On Demand Entertainment, Mitch claimed that 2016 and 2023 contestant Kady McDermott joined the season with a secret boyfriend waiting for her at home.

“You’re calling me and Ella [Barnes] fake. You came in with a boyfriend,” he stated, “You have a boyfriend to this day.”

“I’ve been told by the other girls, I’m not going to name names,” he continued, “You had your boyfriend’s bracelet he gave you on. Your boyfriend was at your house whilst you were there and you’re calling me fake.”

Kady immediately took to her Instagram story to address and deny this “damaging” narrative. 

“The narrative that is circulating that I had a boyfriend whilst in the Love Island villa is categorically FALSE. My mum stayed at mine whilst I was in the villa to look after my dog and house, “ she stated. “The media have been relentless with this narrative and it now appears others want to jump on the bandwagon too. Speaking opinions is one thing but making such bold statements with confidence is wrong. Not only are they false, they can be very damaging.”

The following Instagram story, which has since disappeared, is what really surprised fans. After clearing up the secret boyfriend rumors, Kady shared shocking details about her budding relationship with 2023 contestant Ouzy See. 

“Sadly, late last night Ouzy’s behaviour and actions from the 30th July were brought to my attention.” She continued, “Ouzy is one of the loveliest people I have met and I know he is remorseful but unfortunately actions have consequences and although we are not “official” in our relationship status I am definitely not prepared to start a relationship off on this foot.”

As for what Ouzy did on July 30, no one knows! It is completely unclear what incident Kady is referring to, but it seems as though the two have ended on good terms regardless. 

Kady ended her post by saying, “I wish him nothing but happiness and success in his life. Thank you for the continued support by so many of you, I’d like to focus on the many positives and move on with my life now.”

Ouzy also shared a wordy Instagram story in support of Kady, writing, “Just wanted to say what’s happened with me and Kady has NOTHING to do with her or any false rumors that have been flying about, it’s because of my actions that things have ended not Kady’s and I have apologized to her already, she’s an amazing girl with an amazing family and doesn’t deserve any of the negative messages she has received this morning!”