Adam Sandler Congratulates Real Golfer Named Happy Gilmore For Making College Team

Where to Stream:

Happy Gilmore

Powered by Reelgood

Adam Sandler congratulated a young man by the name of Happy Gilmore (yes, you read that correctly) for making his college golf team.

As it turns out, not only is there a guy named after Sandler’s famed movie character, but he is actually good at golf. The high school golfer announced on Friday that he has made the team at Ball State University.

“I am very excited to announce that I have committed to continue my academic and golf career at Ball State University,” said Happy in a Twitter post. “I am very grateful for the opportunity Coach Fleck has given me! I would like to thank my family, my friends and coaches who push me everyday!”

Sandler quote-tweeted the post and wrote, “Go get em Happy. Pulling for you.”

Happy replied to Sandler saying “my life is complete.” A few other accounts chimed in with some more jokes and movie references, including an account claiming to be the “real” Shooter McGavin (a fictional character from the film played by Christopher McDonald).

It’s worth noting that Landon is this guy’s real name, not Happy. He started going by Happy at a young age once he took up golf. Sandler’s film Happy Gilmore was released in 1996, before he was even born.

Happy seems to love his nickname, however, as his Twitter bio reads: “yes i can do ‘the happy gilmore’ swing.” We have no idea what his temper is like on the green or how good he actually is at golf but given his announcement, he must be pretty decent.