Andy Cohen Opens Up About His Close Friendship With Anderson Cooper: “We Could Have Some Good Threesomes”

Andy Cohen cracked a cheeky joke about his good friend Anderson Cooper during a recent appearance on Sherri.

While joking that he and Sherri Shepherd should date, the two began playfully discussing what their sex life would be like. Shepherd joked that they could resort to having threesomes, saying they could get Cooper to join them.

“I threw in Anderson Cooper’s name because you guys get along so well together,” she explained.

“We could have some good threesomes, me and Anderson,” Cohen joked, before adding, “That is what it would take because we are truly just friends.”

He went on to explain that he and the CNN broadcaster have become like “brothers” over the years, telling Shepherd, “We’ve gotten so much closer over the years, and I just love him to death, and it’s also so fun being a part of a duo.”

“I’ve always been kind of a solo act, and it’s fun for us, you know, we’ve toured the country, 50-plus cities, and obviously we’re on New Year’s Eve every year, and we just have so much fun. I love him and I love making him giggle,” Cohen continued.

Cohen and Cooper have been friends for over two decades since their friends tried — and failed — to set them up on a blind date in the ’90s. Cooper told Jimmy Fallon during an appearance on The Tonight Show that the date never happened because Cohen broke his “cardinal rule,” saying, “He asked me about my mom [Gloria Vanderbilt] within the first minute of talking to me.”

But that failed date blossomed into a lasting relationship both on and off screen. The duo have famously hosted CNN’s New Year’s Eve broadcast together since 2017, enjoying themsleves a little too much sometimes before CNN asked anchors to abstain from drinking while working the 2023 New Year broadcast.

“I think people enjoy seeing me feed Anderson shots and that’s on the menu,” he told People in 2022.

Here’s to many more messy New Years celebrations with the hilarious duo.