Diane Keaton Causes Awkward Moment on ‘The View’ as She Tells Alyssa Farah Griffin to “Stay Away From Me”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Either Diane Keaton has a hilariously dry sense of humor or she really didn’t want to appear on this morning’s episode of The View — or perhaps some combination of the two.

Early in her interview alongside her Book Club: The Next Chapter co-stars Jane Fonda, Mary Steenburgen and Candice Bergen, Keaton was bewildered by the number of people present in the live audience at The View.

Asking the First Wives Club actress her first question of the segment, co-host Alyssa Farah Griffin began, “All of you have made me think about aging differently and I think it’s so powerful to see that you can just have so much fun at any age. Now, Diane, I have to ask…”

Keaton cut off Griffin as she stoically said, “I had no fun at any age.”

Before letting Griffin move on with her question, Keaton looked around the room, which she referred to as “scary.” She added, “I mean there’s a lot of people I’m looking at right now. Look at them. They’re amazing. They’re your people. Look, oh my god. Why am I here?”

Later on, things got even more awkward when Griffin attempted to ask Keaton yet another question.

After Steenburgen wrapped up her response about her time working on Step Brothers, Griffin said, “Now, Diane,” to which the Father of the Bride star replied, “No, not me. Stay away from me. Enough is enough.”

'The View'
Photo: ABC

Griffin laughed through the uncomfortable moment, before bringing up Keaton’s “fun” Instagram feed as a clip of the star dancing to Miley Cyrus‘ “Flowers” played on the screen behind her.

“That’s me! Disgusting!” Keaton joked while the video played. “That’s so stupid I can’t stand it. Look at that, that’s a crazy person.”

As she lifted her champagne glass to her mouth, she told the panel, “I’m gonna drink up to that one.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.