Don Lemon Axed by CNN, Claims Network Never “Directly” Told Him

Don Lemon is out at CNN. The longtime anchor has been dropped from the network after nearly two decades working there.

“CNN and Don have parted ways,” CNN boss Chris Licht wrote in a statement released Monday. “Don will forever be a part of the CNN family, and we thank him for his contributions over the past 17 years. We wish him well and will be cheering him on in his future endeavors.”

CNN This Morning, the show Lemon has been co-hosting for the past six months alongside Poppy Harlow and Kaitlan Collins, will continue, Licht shared in his note.

Lemon confirmed the news himself, albeit in a slightly less PR-friendly statement. The anchor took shots at the network in a message posted to Twitter Monday.

He wrote, “I was informed this morning by my agent that I have been terminated by CNN. I am stunned. After 17 years at CNN I would have thought that someone in management would have had the decency to tell me directly. At no time was I ever given any indication that I would not be able to continue to do the work I have loved at the network.

“It is clear that there are some larger issues at play,” he continued. “With that said, I want to thank my colleagues and the many teams I have worked with for an incredible run. They are the most talented journalists in the business, and I wish them all the best.”

CNN disputed Lemon’s claims shortly after his statement went live. The CNN Communications Twitter account wrote, “Don Lemon’s statement about this morning’s events is inaccurate. He was offered an opportunity to meet with management but instead released a statement on Twitter.”

Lemon’s exit comes after he was ordered to participate in “formal training” and was temporarily pulled off air following his controversial comments about Nikki Haley not being in her “prime” as a woman, which he said during a February broadcast.

Licht issued a statement at the time addressing Lemon’s words and noting, “It is important to me that CNN balances accountability with fostering a culture in which people can own, learn and grow from their mistakes.”

Shortly after Lemon’s regrettable comments, Variety published a damning expose detailing the anchor’s “volatile” behavior, which was criticzed as  misogynistic and fatphobic. Lemon spoke out after the article was published, slamming Variety‘s reporting and claiming they regurgitated “15-year-old anonymous gossip” for their story.  

Since then, he’s been caught dissing Jon Stewart live on air and beefing with his guest, GOP presidential candidate Vivek Ramaswamy. While interviewing Ramaswamy on April 19, Lemon sparred with the White House hopeful over his “infuriating” words, telling him, “I don’t want to sit and argue with you.”

This story has been updated to include a statement issued by the CNN Communications team in response to Lemon’s claims.