Rachel Zegler Was Brutally Honest About Why She Took Her ‘Shazam 2’ Role: “I Needed a Job”

Where to Stream:

Shazam! Fury of the Gods

Powered by Reelgood

Rachel Zegler just got real about starring in Shazam! Fury of the Gods, thus marking her introduction into the DC Universe. The West Side Story actor said she accepted the role of Anthea because nobody else was hiring her. 

In an interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Zegler stated that when she was cast as the superpowered character, she “needed a job.” The actor then turned to the camera and added, “I’m being so serious.” 

Zegler continued, “The reality is, we’re in the middle of a pandemic and I was not working and I couldn’t get a job for the life of me, because West Side Story hadn’t come out yet.” 

Her casting turned out to be a great thing. Zegler stated that she was “really excited” when she got the audition.

She said, “I loved the first movie, and the fact that they even wanted me to come in for a callback and then a camera read and then everything in between.”

The actor continued, “I’m so lucky that I got this job. I made some of my best friends on this job. I just absolutely adore this movie, too, so I’m excited.”

Zegler stars in the movie alongside Zachary Levi (reprising his role as the titular character), Adam Brody, Jack Dylan Grazer, Ross Butler, Lucy Lui and Helen Mirren. She previously opened up about the joys of working with Brody, calling him a childhood crush.

Thankfully, Zegler’s casting dry spell didn’t last for long. The actor has a couple of exciting projects lined up, including The Hunger Games prequel, The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, Snow White and Spellbound.