Whoopi Goldberg Gets TMI on ‘The View,’ Reveals She’s Back to Wearing Underwear for In-Studio Shows

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Whoopi Goldberg got real on this morning’s episode of The View when she revealed how her wardrobe has changed now that the talk show is back filming in the studio after a year-and-a-half of at-home shows.

The View filmed remotely during the earlier days of the COVID-19 pandemic, and welcomed plenty of virtual guests before they returned to the studio in September 2021. Today’s guest, Christina Ricci, was back at the Hot Topics panel in-person on Wednesday after her last appearance on The View, which she filmed from her house.

“The last time you were with us was over Zoom,” Goldberg told Ricci after welcoming her guest. Ricci replied, “That’s right. I had completely forgotten I did that, too. When you’re in your own home I guess you just forget things.”

After Ricci added, “Feels like it didn’t happen,” Joy Behar asked, “Where did those years go, by the way?”

Sunny Hostin pointed out that The View was stuck at home for nearly two years, after which Goldberg dropped her TMI tidbit.

“I’ve had to wear underwear this entire new time!” she exclaimed as the audience laughed.

Ricci kept her comments a bit more tame as she mentioned she now wears “actual shoes” out of the house, and the panel swiftly moved on to discuss the latest season of her hit drama, Showtime’s Yellowjackets.

Goldberg is never shy about baring it all with View fans. During a December 2020 segment, she declined to show off her quarantine fashion to her co-hosts, explaining, “I’m not allowed to stand up because I’m actually not wearing any underwear.”

And years earlier in 2015, she admitted to The View panel that she hasn’t worn a bra in decades. She said at the time, “I haven’t worn a bra in 40 years. I’ve always been uncomfortable in them. I could never find one that sat comfortably and it always killed me in the back. So I just stopped wearing them,” per E! News.

All we can say is, watch out, Jenna Bush Hager — you’ve got some competition when it comes to daytime TV underwear talk.

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.