A Monkey Peed in Chase Stokes’s Eye While Filming ‘Outer Banks’

Where to Stream:

Outer Banks

Powered by Reelgood

Filming a TV series in a sunny, beachy setting may sound like a dream, but Chase Stokes, who stars as John B in Netflix‘s Outer Banks, recently shared proof that even dream jobs have their hazards.

Stokes appeared on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon last night (Feb. 27) to talk about the third season of Outer Banks, which was shot in the jungle of Barbados, and to hear him tell it, the set can be a dangerous place.

“We were in the jungle for an extended period of time, and there was one day in particular where the universe just decided to not work in my favor,” Stokes told Fallon. “There’s a stunt that happens at the end of the final episode… it was a very exhausting stunt so I was leaning against a tree and next thing you know, my arm is on fire. I’m like, ‘What is going on?’ One of our Bajan crew members looked at me and says, ‘That’s poison tree sap. And that’s all over your arm.’ So I’m like, ‘Oh, that’s awesome.'”

If that were the worst thing to happen to Stokes that day it would be dramatic enough, but the story didn’t end there. After getting treated for the sap with various ointments, Stokes said it only got worse from there.

“I recover from that and I’m talking to my director, like, ‘I think I’m okay. I have a pulse. I’m not dying.’ And I feel something hit me in the back of the head,” he said. “It was a full-on, like, jerked my body forward. And I was like, ‘What was that?’ And he goes, ‘Bird. That was a bird. A bird just flew into the back of your head.'”

Fallon was in stitches over his guest’s bad luck, laughing as he said, “So a bird attacks you, after the poison tree sap. A bird dive-bombs your head, and you go, ‘Oh my God, well, that’s it, go home.'”

But go home he did not. You’ve heard of he rule of threes, right? Because the universe, not content to just let two freak incidents happen that day, really piled on to Stokes next.

“So, it starts to rain, says one of our crew members,” he continued.”He goes, ‘Oh thank God. It’s raining. Finally, this will cool us down.’ So I’m like, ‘Oh, wow, it’s raining.’ And I look up, and, immediately, he says, ‘Nope, not rain. That’s monkeys peeing.’ And a monkey literally pees directly in my eyeball. A monkey peed in my eyeball!”

“That’s a great day at work!” Fallon quipped.

All three seasons of Outer Banks are now streaming on Netflix. Watch Stokes’ full interview in the video above.