Joe Biden Says He’s The “Brunt” of Jill Biden’s Jokes on ‘The Drew Barrymore Show’: “I’d Prefer It Wasn’t Always About Me”

Joe Biden may find himself in a lot of meme-worthy situations in the media, but who would have thought they made their way back to the White House? The POTUS revealed that his wife, Dr. Jill Biden, is oftentimes the perpetrator of jokes made at his own expense during today’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show

Speaking of their love story and how he proposed to Jill five times before she said yes, President Biden concluded by praising his wife, who, by the sound of it, could be a good replacement for the Secret Service.

“You can tell her anything. She’s got a backbone like a ramrod,” he joked. “You don’t want to mess with me with this woman.”

When Drew Barrymore said, “Give me strength, give me humor. I know we can get somewhere together,” the President revealed, “Well [Jill’s] got both of them. I’m usually the brunt of her humor, though.”

Noting that his sons “love” her making fun of him, Barrymore asked, “Who wants to grow up in a serious household?,” to which Jill quipped, “And I have so much to work with!” We can only imagine.

The host went on to explain that she’s spent her life in comedy, and “will either try to make you laugh” or “will be the brunt of the joke.” She said that “as long as people are laughing,” she’s happy. However, President Biden — who’s been faced with a fair share of criticisms for his blunders — responded, “I’d prefer it wasn’t always about me, though.”

Meanwhile, Barrymore opened up about what it’s like to see herself getting made fun of in the media.

“I’ve definitely been the brunt of a lot of jokes,” she said. “Sometimes I’m watching Saturday Night Live and I’m enjoying myself and lost in it and then I’ll come on and I’ll be like, ‘This really breaks that fourth wall down.'”

She continued, “And by the way, if you can’t laugh at yourself. Oh my God. Big trouble,” to which President Biden said, “Especially in the business we’re in.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays at 9:30 a.m. ET on CBS.