Queue And A

Sylvester Stallone Loves The “Mafioso Goes West” Vibes Of ‘Tulsa King’

At the age of 76, three-time Oscar nominee and all-around icon Sylvester Stallone is tackling his first lead role in a television series in Paramount+’s Tulsa King. Created by Yellowstone‘s Taylor Sheridan with Boardwalk Empire creator Terence Winter serving as showrunner, this crime dramedy follows Dwight “The General” Manfredi (Stallone) after he’s served a 25-year prison sentence to protect his boss, Pete “The Rock” Invernizzi (A.C Peterson), and the boss’s son, Charles “Chickie” Invernizzi (Domenick Lombardozzi). To reward him for keeping his mouth shut, Pete and his crew relocate him to Tulsa, Oklahoma, to establish criminal operations there and expand their empire.

Once in the Sooner State, Dwight quickly recruits a right-hand man — a savvy cab driver named Tyson (Jay Will) — and a reluctant source of income— Bodhi (Martin Starr) and his cannabis dispensary —to jumpstart his operations. While Dwight is a tough capo for the mob, he is also just a lonely guy who has been thrust into a world he doesn’t quite understand. As much as he wants to succeed in establishing a new crime family, he wants to connect with his estranged daughter, Tina (Tatiana Zappardino), even more. Luckily, he meets the comely and equally lonely divorcee Stacy Beale (Andrea Savage) on a night out, and the two discover a connection she can’t quite ignore.

Decider got the chance to speak with Sylvester Stallone before the series premiere to explore what drew him to the role of Dwight Manfredi, the credibility he brings to the role, and his feelings about reuniting with his Cop Land co-star, Annabella Sciorra.

Brian Douglas/Paramount+

DECIDER: I know that Taylor Sheridan had wanted to work with you for a long time before Tulsa King. Was that feeling mutual?

SYLVESTER STALLONE: It was mutual. I knew that no one was going to buy me as a just cowboy [laughs], but it’s something I’ve always wanted to play. Unbeknownst to me, Taylor was working on this project where this mafioso goes west and steps into that classic fish out of water situation that we all love. When Taylor called and I read the script , I knew that the role of Dwight Manfredi taps into my desire to play that kind of cowboy character. Perfect timing.

Would you say the cowboy element is what made you most excited to play Dwight?

Yeah, no question about it. At this point in my career, I might get to play a grandpa walking down the road with a fishing pole, you know? [laughs] The fact that I’m playing a gangster with the gray hair who’s still aggressive, and still an Alpha, is pretty exciting to me. Also, I think I add a lot of credibility to the role. I have a lot of life experience, which works for the character. So better late than never.

I agree! I also really like the dynamic between Dwight and his lady friend/ATF agent Stacy. What do you think it is that draws them to each other?

Dwight is just lonely. That’s it. Here’s this girl who is like a gangster herself. Her confidence and toughness make Dwight go, “Wow, this is unusual.” What I really thought stood out about the morning after they met is that Dwight gets put down. She dumps him! That’s unexpected because you think this mafioso would be, “Get lost, sweetheart,” but it’s just the opposite. I loved that.

Getty Images for Paramount+

In addition to Andrea Savage, there’s another strong woman in the Tulsa King cast: Annabella Sciorra, who plays Dwight’s sister Joanne. What was it like reuniting with your Cop Land co-star?

Oh, she’s so good. She’s the real deal. She’s a real actress, and you can feel the authenticity when you work together as actors. Sometimes, you work with an actor and there’s nothing going on behind the eyes of that person. But with Annabella, it’s deep, it’s authentic. And I forgot how good she was. She was amazing in Cop Land; we had a couple of great scenes together. She was fantastic. This time, I feel like I’m working with a real old school actress, the real deal.