Drew Barrymore Admits to Sending Joanna Gaines Videos of Her “Screaming and Crying” While Renovating Her House on ‘The Drew Barrymore Show’

If anyone can understand the troubles of home renovations it would be Joanna Gaines. During today’s episode of The Drew Barrymore ShowDrew Barrymore admitted to reaching out to the Fixer Upper personality and her husband, Chip Gaines, for some advice on how to remodel her house — which, according to the talk show host, was much more emotional than one would think.

During her visit on the show, Joanna said, “I want to ask you so much about your house but we can talk about that later,” to which Drew responded, “It’s still in the works,” before giving the backstory to her audience.

“I send Joanna and I’ve even reached out to you and Chip on social when I’m like, ‘Demo day!’ And then I’ll cut to myself three months later screaming and crying,” Drew said as a video of her doing just that appeared on the screen. “And you’ll text me kindly and say, ‘Just keep going.’ And then I’ll send you another picture of some progress and I’ll even hear like, ‘Ooh, what’s that tile?’”

Before getting into the interview, Drew told her guest, who said she understands that feeling of getting frustrated, that she would watch her on Fixer Upper when she was going through a “major life change.” She said, “I was separating, I was taking my family from California to New York. I knew that I had struggled doing movies while I had kids because I didn’t want to pretend to be other people. I wanted to be their mom. I needed a big life change but I didn’t know where I was going and I felt so lost.”

Drew added, “I would watch you and you gave me the courage to believe that I could take my life in a new direction. Because I love design and I love homemaking and I realized this is what I want to pour myself into.”

The love fest between the duo continued as Joanna praised Drew for everything she’s doing now, pointing out, “The second we stepped into this building we could feel the joy of just the people around you, you, your spirit. You’ve landed in a really beautiful place.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays at 9:30 a.m. ET.