Johnny Knoxville Sends Love and Support to Bam Margera: “I Just Want Him to Get Well”

Johnny Knoxville says he has nothing but love for his Jackass costar Bam Margera. Knoxville, who was sued by Margera in a wrongful termination suit last year — which has since been dropped — told Variety he wants the best for his friend, who has publicly struggled with substance abuse issues in recent years.

When asked by Variety if he sees “a path forward” for himself and Margera, Knoxville stayed optimistic.

“I haven’t spoken to Bam in about a year and a half, give or take six months. [Jackass director] Jeff Tremaine, Steve-O and I had a face-to-face meeting with Bam and his wife, trying to figure out how to get him help,” he told the outlet. “Then we had a Zoom as a group not long after that, and that was the last time I talked to him.”

He continued, “It boils down to: I love Bam. I know that a lot has happened. I just want him to get well for himself and his family. I love the guy, and I want him to get well and stay well.”

As for whether Margera could re-enter the Jackass franchise in the future, Knoxville said he’s open to the possibility.

“I think that would be a discussion. I only want him to get better. That’s the first step. He has to take that step and maintain that step, because everything else is just gravy,” he told Variety. “Jackass is not important when you’re talking about someone’s life.”

Margera entered rehab in Florida earlier this summer and later fled the facility before he was found safe, and later checked back into a treatment center. After fleeing rehab a second time, Margera agreed to re-enter treatment following an intervention from friends and family.

Margera appeared in the original Jackass series from 2000-2002, and later appeared in Jackass: The Movie, Jackass Number Two and Jackass 3D. He starred in his own spinoff projects, including Viva La Bam and Bam’s Unholy Union, but was dropped from the latest Jackass film, Jackass Forever, after he allegedly tested positive for Adderall, according to Variety.