Jordan Peele Shuts Down Fan Who Calls Him “Best Horror Director”: “Please Put the Phone Down”

Jordan Peele is remaining humble after being blasted with praise over his latest success, the upcoming horror film Nope. Peele brushed off Twitter love on Wednesday after one of his fans declared him “the best horror director of all time” after he churned out hits Get Out and Us ahead of his latest release, which is already getting glowing reviews.

Twitter user Adam Ellis caught Peele’s eye when he wrote, “I know this is a hot take but at what point do we declare Jordan Peele the best horror director of all time? Can you think of another horror director that had 3 great films, let alone 3 in a row? I can’t.”

Ellis added, “I’m open to discussion but if you’re coming into my mentions to say Get Out and Us are anything less than modern classics you might as well just show yourself out because I’m not open to that (wrong) opinion.”

To support his claims with evidence, Ellis shared a screenshot of the Rotten Tomatoes scores for Peele’s three horror films, all of which have been rated above 85% by the review aggregator website.

His tweet somehow reached Peele, who dismissed the Rotten Tomatoes evidence and replied, “Sir, please put the phone down I beg you,” before adding, “Sorry. I love your enthusiasm but, I will just not tolerate any John Carpenter slander!!!”

Carpenter is behind countless classics, among them the 1978 horror masterpiece (which has morphed into a never-ending franchise) Halloween, as well as The Fog, Escape from New York and The Thing.

Carpenter’s impressive resume wasn’t good enough for Ellis though, who held firm in his Peele fandom. He later tweeted, “I stand by all my bad opinions 😌.”

When another user replied to his tweet by asking, “Even after Jordan Peele calls you out on them?,” Ellis wrote back, “Yes, even more so.”

Nope premieres in theaters July 22.