Gayle King Co-Hosted ‘CBS Mornings’ From a Van Following False Positive COVID Test: “Very, Very Jarring”

Better safe than sorry! After co-hosting yesterday’s (Feb. 11) episode of CBS Mornings virtually following a false positive COVID-19 test, Gayle King announced that she’s actually perfectly healthy.

On Thursday’s episode of CBS Mornings, King announced that she had received a positive PCR test at the show’s Times Square studio. She ultimately covered the day’s events from a nearby mobile van.

“I’ve been so freaking careful. I just can’t believe it,” King said at the time, noting that her and her team’s subsequent PCR tests had all come back negative.

She continued: “I just got off the phone with my doctor, she said, ‘Gayle, you’re fine. Just put on your mask and carry on.’ But it is very, very jarring, I have to say.”

Later that day, King took to Instagram to reassure fans that she had in fact received a false positive test result.

“I do NOT have COVID & can move in the world ..Whew!” she wrote. “Still planning to wear mask in public for now …so relieved my vacation starts TOMORROW and I was dreading being isolated in my apartment!”

The entire incident is reminiscent of a particularly infamous 2021 episode of The View, in which Sunny Hostin and Ana Navarro were yanked offstage after falsely testing positive for COVID-19… Minutes before Vice President Kamala Harris was supposed to appear on the show in-person. Live TV — there’s nothing like it!

CBS Mornings airs weekdays from 7 to 9 a.m. ET on CBS.

Where to watch CBS Mornings