Selena Gomez Clears Up Her Disney Channel Comments: “I’m Beyond Proud of the Work I Did”

Selena Gomez has no ill will toward the House of Mouse.

While promoting her new Hulu series Only Murders in the Building at a Television Critics Association press panel earlier this month, the actress joked about the intensity of starring on Disney Channel’s Wizards of Waverly Place as a teenager.

“I signed my life away to Disney at a very young age, so I don’t know exactly what I was doing,” she said at the time. “I was a kid. I didn’t know what I was doing, I was just running around on set, and now I feel like a sponge and I soak up all the wisdom I can.”

But according to Radio Times, Gomez clarified she wasn’t shading Disney in a recent joint interview with Only Murders in the Building costar Steve Martin.

When asked if she had any hesitation about returning to TV, she responded: “No, definitely not. I was looking for another show to do. And by the way, I’m beyond proud of the work that I did with Disney as well. It kind of shaped who I am in a way… As a female in my position, and I was taken care of and I’ve only had lovely experiences, so I’m grateful for that.”

Martin added: “I have to jump in, because I was there when Selena said that [at TCA] and it was said in the most light-hearted, funny, jokey way.”

“And then I see it gets interpreted — sometimes they’ll say she was joking and sometimes they have it as an ominous headline — but it was completely just all in fun,” he continued. “I’ve signed my life away to Marty Short, you think I like that?”

Only Murders in the Building marks Gomez’s first starring TV role since she appeared on Wizards of Waverly Place from 2007 to 2012.

“The level of sophistication of the material is the first reason why I wanted to do this,” Gomez said at TCA. “It’s really nice to be back on TV and it’s nice to be cast as my actual age, which never happens.”

The first three episodes of Only Murders in the Building premiere on Hulu on August 31, with subsequent episodes premiering weekly on Tuesdays.

Where to watch Only Murders in the Building