Will ‘American Pickers’ Star Frank Fritz Return To The Show?

Fans of the History Channel’s American Pickers may have noticed a fairly large absence recently, as longtime co-host Frank Fritz has not appeared in any episodes of the show during this current season. Fritz, along with co-hosts Mike Wolfe and Danielle Colby, would travel the country in search of the most unique vintage finds in people’s homes, junkyards, and beyond, repurposing or restoring them in order to give them new life and a new home. The show is currently in its 22nd season, and while Fritz had appeared in the first 21, he’s been completely absent from the latest one which began airing in January, and has featured several newer faces, like Mike’s brother Robbie, who is also a picker.

After the 21st season wrapped in 2020, Frank explained that he needed to have back surgery, and soon after that, the pandemic shut down production on a new season. When production did resume, Frank was not involved for reasons that aren’t clear, but he’s adamant that he did not leave the show. Frank told The Sun that he is definitely interested in returning to the show, saying, “I was doing it for 11 years, but there is a lot of controversy going on right now. It’s up to the network whether I come back on the show. It ain’t gonna affect me one bit. I didn’t leave the show. I finished shooting and then I had a little back surgery and the pandemic came.” Frank is open to the idea of returning, saying, “I would like to come back to the show, but we will see,” but a recent report from The Wrap indicates that the network doesn’t have plans to bring him back.

Frank and co-host Mike Wolfe have known each other for decades but it’s been widely reported that their relationship has strained recently, though there’s no evidence that this has contributed to Frank’s absence from the show. “I haven’t talked to Mike in two years. He knew my back was messed up, but he didn’t call me up and ask how I was doing. That’s just how it is,” Frank said. Still, he adds, he knows the two have a good professional rapport. “You couldn’t just stick two people in a van and get the chemistry you get from me and Mike. We’ve known each other for about 40 years. We can finish each other’s sentences.”

American Pickers airs Monday nights at 9/8c on the History Channel.