Tom Cruise Told His ‘Mummy’ Co-Star That No One Can Run with Him On Screen

The “Tom Cruise being weird on set” archive has another addition. In a new interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Cruise’s The Mummy co-star Annabelle Wallis revealed that the actor doesn’t allow anyone to run with him on screen, but he made an exception for their 2017 action-adventure. So that explains why Cruise has yet to do a marathon-themed Mission: Impossible movie (among other reasons).

During an interview about her new film The Silencing, available today on VOD, Wallis discussed working with Cruise on The Mummy, Alex Kurtzman’s 2017 action flick. The actress praised Cruise’s acting ability, as well as his commitment to whatever role he happens to be playing that month. “He’s Tom Cruise. He’s his own thing. He’s such a movie star, and he does his own bloody stunts!” she said. “He means business, and he loves this business. He’s a cinephile. I think people are in awe of that kind of passion and love for cinema and a desire to excel, to keep growing and keep pushing boundaries.”

But of course, that kind of stardom comes with certain neurosis. “He’s on a different level, and, you know, I ticked a box. I got to run on-screen with him, but he told me no at first,” Wallis told THR. “He said, ‘Nobody runs on-screen [with me],’ and I said, “But I’m a really good runner.”

“So, I would time my treadmill so that he’d walk in and see me run,” the actress continued. “And then he added all these running scenes. So, that was it. It was, like, better than an Oscar. I was so happy! I was so happy that I got to run on-screen with Tom Cruise.”

Wallis added that despite his odd running preferences, she remains “in awe” of Cruise and his many accomplishments. “I hope the questions never stop. I love talking about him. It’s really cool,” she said. “He’s so old-school. He does everything himself. It’s phenomenal … He’s as real as it gets.”

Read Annabelle Wallis’ entire interview with The Hollywood Reporter here.

Where to stream The Mummy