Aaron Hernandez’s Fiancée and Brother Break Silence on Netflix’s ‘Killer Inside’: “I Can’t Say” If He Was Gay

Aaron Hernandez‘s brother Jonathan and former fiancée Shayanna Jenkins-Hernandez are breaking their silence on the new Netflix docuseries Killer Inside: The Mind of Aaron Hernandez. This week, both Jonathan Hernandez and Jenkins appeared on television to discuss the documentary’s allegation that the convicted murderer and former NFL player was gay. While Hernandez told Dr. Oz that the claim is one of his many remaining “questions,” Jenkins admitted that she wishes Aaron would have confided in her. “I would not have loved him any differently. I would’ve understood,” she told Good Morning America‘s Amy Robach.

On Wednesday morning, GMA aired a sit-down interview with Jenkins, Aaron Hernandez’s fiancée and the mother of his child. Jenkins declined to be interviewed in Killer Inside, but she spoke openly about the fact that “Aaron’s sexuality” should not have been included in the three-part docuseries. “You can’t describe someone’s sexuality without them being here,” she told Robach. “Although I’ve had a child with Aaron, I still can’t tell you how he was feeling inside. No one can.”

Aaron Hernandez, a star tight end on the New England Patriots, was convicted of killing his fried Odin Lloyd in 2015. Two years later, just a few days after he was acquitted of another double homicide, he committed suicide in prison.

“If he did feel that way, or if he felt the urge, I wish that I was told,” continued Jenkins. “I wish that he would’ve told me because I would not have loved him any differently. I would’ve understood. It’s not shameful and I don’t think anybody should feel shameful of who they are inside, regardless of who they love. I think it’s a beautiful thing. I just wish I was able to tell him that.”

In the first episode of Killer Inside, Aaron Hernandez’s high school quarterback Dennis SanSoucie alleges that he and Hernandez were in “an on and off-relationship from seventh grade to junior year of high school,” and that during that time, they “experimented” with one another. “You mean to tell me that the quarterback and the tight end, he’s gay? He sleeps with other men?” says SanSoucie. “We had to hide what we were.”

Jonathan Hernandez also addressed rumors about his brother’s sexuality in an interview with Dr. Oz that will air today, Thursday, January 30. When asked about SanSoucie’s claims, Hernandez described it as “one of the questions” and “head scratches” that he still has about his brother. “You look at everything. There’s just so many questions regarding everything,” he told Dr. Oz. “And, for me to sit here and say it was this or that, I can’t say. All you can do is look at the evidence that was provided.”

Killer Inside suggests that Aaron Hernandez was forced to hide his sexuality from their abusive father, who would not have been accepting of his son. “I don’t know if he would have been able to finish his sentence,” Jonathan Hernandez said of their father Dennis. “I don’t know at all, I really don’t. I can’t imagine him even being able to or my dad would have thought he could beat that out of him.”

Watch Aaron Hernandez’s fiancée Shayanna Jenkins-Hernandez and brother Jonathan Hernandez discuss the Netflix docuseries above.

Watch Killer Inside: The Mind of Aaron Hernandez on Netflix