‘Below Deck Mediterranean’: Colin Macy-O’Toole On The Details You Didn’t See During His Injury

Poor Colin! After going through the emotional pain of maybe leaving the yacht (but then being convinced to stay by Captain Sandy), he’s now going through the physical pain of busting his body — in more than one spot. On the latest episode of Below Deck Mediterannean, we watched him writhe on the ground and cry out in a way that indicates something very unfun has happened. “I landed hard on my wrist,” he explained, but there was more to it than that.

When Decider caught up with Colin last month in New York City, he told us all the details you didn’t get to see on the show. Including the fact that, “I actually had to ask the camera guy what happened, I had no idea what happened,” he said.

As the crew was rushing to get the anchors in place, Colin explained, “The latch to one of the bilges was open a little bit, so I was running with no shoes on and my toe gets stuck under the hatch. I wound up going down with my toe in the hatch, I land on the deck and my toe was like, black.”

And then it got worse. “I thought I broke my toe and I’m all scrapped up and then my adrenaline goes down and I’m like, my toe doesn’t hurt but I can’t feel my wrist.” Luckily, an engineer on the boat had recently sprained his wrist so he was familiar with the issue, and Colin was off to the hospital.

“I’m there for a couple of hours,” he continued, until he received the diagnosis that “it was a deep sprain.” So what does that mean for the rest of this season on Below Deck Med, which only has a few charters left? “I wound up being the main tender driver,” he said with a laugh. “I could do certain things but I couldn’t pull in a line which is most of my job.” Um hello, it’s also his job to keep spirits high on the boat and if his happy dance and “I’m on pills, baby!” declaration when he was picked up from the hospital are any indication, he’ll have everyone laughing right through the end of the season.

Below Deck Mediterranean airs Monday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo.

Where to stream Below Deck Mediterranean